Pumpkin Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
This is a good fall cake. It's also an old recipe, which is why it has so much oil and sugar. For the sugar, I only used 1 cup of brown sugar and a half cup of oil. I added all the spices listed, plus ginger and 1 teaspoon of baking powder, then baked it in a 9x13 pan. For those of you who say you skipped the cloves and think the cake is too bland, the cake needs the cloves. We had it with whipped cream. I baked it a bit too long, but it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
This is so good! Moist, sweet, not overly pumpkin-y. And it's easy! The hardest part was waiting for it to come out of the oven. This would be so good with vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
This was so moist and awesome! My husband hates pumpkin anything and he LOVED this! I took previous advice and cut the white sugar to 1 cup, added 2/3 cup brown sugar and added 1 tsp. baking powder in addition to the baking soda. Next time I will add an additional 1/2 tsp. baking powder. I also do not care for cloves so I omitted them and added 1/2 tsp. ground ginger and cut the nutmeg to 1/2 tsp. as well. It was so yummy covered with cream cheese icing. Also, I baked it in a 9 x 13 pan so you will need to cut the baking time down to about 40-45 min. Definitely do not want to overbake this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
I made large, what they call "Texas muffins" out of this. I personally love the taste of pumpkin all by itself so much I cut the spices in half but I expect most people would want to leave them in. It really tastes just like a pumpkin pie in cake form. The cake is moist by itself but if you wrap it or put it in a plastic baggy nearly straight out of the oven it retains a great deal more moisture.YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2004
A bit sweet for my liking, but kids love it - made with entirely whole wheat flour, came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2004
This cake was quite boring. It wasn't bad. It wasn't great. Just... "eh". I did everything as instructed except for using the allspice since I didn't have any (I substituted with cardamom to give it a little extra kick in the pants.) For some reason this just seemed more like a bread than a cake to me. Next time I will try a different pumpkin cake recipe in the hopes of finding something a little sweeter, lighter, and more spongy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2004
I thought this cake had a lot of potential, but there was still much to be desired. Of course, I made changes. I used vegan egg replacer and applesauce instead of oil. I think it needed more salt, or perhaps some lemon zest to boost up the flavor. I think I saved it with orange icing, but it was still a little bland. It was a little too sweet as well. Even though I used applesauce, I decreased the amount of sugar. Also, it will be a dense cake no matter what, I added baking powder and was still small. I will definately expirament with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahParadis

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2004
This cake was SO delicious. I always make it for Thanksgiving and sometimes Christmas. The moment the lid comes off my cake tote, the crowds rush in. Unfortunately, there's never any left for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2003
This is SO GOOD and SO EASY to make! It reminds me of the pumpkin muffins I get at my favorite local deli. AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2003
Loved this recipe! I baked this cake in in a 9x13 pan and iced with cream cheese icing. It was very moist and received rave reviews at work! It smelled GREAT while baking also! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States