Pumpkin Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
Very good cake and simple to make. It had good flavor and was very moist. Even those that normally don't like pumpkin desserts enjoyed this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Massapequa, New York, USA
Living In: Gray Court, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
good recipe..I made this cake for my dads birthday and everyone enjoyed it.We usually aren't big on the pumpkin taste but this cake was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morehead, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
Wow, this cake is amazing! I made it exactly as written (yes, I used all that oil!) and it came out moist and wonderful. It tasted like a spice cake - you couldn't taste the pumpkin much. I frosted with butter cream frosting and it was enjoyed by all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
This cake was moist and delicious. Everybody loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
very moist and delicious. I substituted some applesauce and used tapioca flour instead of eggs, and it still was fantastic. This will be a fall staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Jaeger
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
Wow, what a yummy, yummy cake. I did substitue 1/2 C applesauce for 1/2 C oil. But then, I added back the calories saved (and then some, I'm afraid) by icing with cream cheese frosting--oh, my, this was to die for! I added more nuts than suggested, too, and used pecans, about 1/2 to 3/4 cup of nuts. I imagine raisins would be good. The icing was great, but not necessary. I think another reviewer said they made this with just applesauce, and no pumpkin, and I bet that would be just as good. A very moist, spicy, dense cake, ideal for a cold winter morning! I have frozen one to take out for my family on Thanksgiving morning. Very easy to make, and I highly reccommend you try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
This was a delicious recipt. I am not a big fan of pumpkin pie, but I loved this cake. And so did my son's grade five class.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
This was an excellent recipe. I did use 1/2 cup of oil and 1/2 cup of applesauce. Very moist. I made it look like a pumpkin and used cream cheese icing. My kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
I adjusted the recipe as well, used 1 cup white sugar, 2/3 c brown, 1/2cup oil, 2/3 cup apple sauce and added 1 tea baking powder. I made these into cupcakes and they rose beautifully. I left in the cloves because we like a spice cake with a bit of a bite, and I think for those who left it out, this is what is missing for you, clove add a very nice level of depth and flavor to a pumpkin recipe. Once the recipe is adjusted, it makes for awesome cupcakes/cakes. Definitely loved the cream cheese frosting, you might try adding just a touch of cinnamon or pumpkin pie spice to the frosting (just a bit, don't let it overpower... very easy recipe, shorten the time of course... I give 4 stars because i had to adjust so much, but for mine --- 5 stars!!! Happy Halloween!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
If you don't have any marzipan on hand for the stem you could always use an ice cream cone cup cake. They're very easy to make. Just take some cake batter and fill the cone 3/4 full and bake. Then just flip it upside down after it's been baked into the hole and frost with chocolate frosting. Voila! there's a stem that you can eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States