Pumpkin Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Very good. I used half oil and half applesauce. Also used 1 c white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar. Great use of my frozen homemade pumpkin puree. Tastes like gingerbread. Mmmm... I sifted some powdered sugar on top but the cake absorbed it all by the time I served it so I would recommend doing that right before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
We just had a piece of this cake and it was wonderful. I did not have allspice so I used a teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice in its place but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. We loved it and will make it often. For special occasions I might add a glaze but for an everyday dessert I would not change a thing. Many thanks for another keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATSINTHEKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trinidad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Lovely, moist, perfectly spiced autumn treat. I have used both pumpkin, as written, as well as mashed sweet potato, which I quick-cooked in the microwave, then slipped them out of their skins and mashed. No discernible taste difference. Absolutely fantastic! I always cut the sugar back to 2 cups, and it comes out just right to our palates. I also add a tsp of ground ginger, which complements pumpkin/sweet potato to perfection. Wonderful, heritage-calibre recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
Have made this cake every year for DH's birthday. (at least once each year since 2003!) I use pumpkin pie spice and add a glaze of powdered sugar/vanilla extract/cinnamon/milk. Last year I made this for a dinner party and could NOT find the vanilla (went NUTS), so I substituted Hazelnut extract and it was delicious. Fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Tried this for the first time and it is amazing. I did how ever take the advice of substituting half of the oil for apple sauce. I sprinkled it with a mixture of powdered sugar and cocoa. Yum, will try frosting it for Halloween.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hugsy25

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Summerside, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rebecca Heary
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This cake was incredible. Highly recommend it. We used hershey bar cutouts for the eyes and mouth and a hershey's kiss for the nose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Moist and somewhat tender. Very much like pumpkin bread but a little lighter. I followed the recipe except omitted the nuts because not too many people are fond of nuts. I baked this in a 6 cavity fluted pan to make 3 mini pumpkins. I had to trim some of the bottoms, but the scraps gave me a chance to taste test. I would double the spices because I like my pumpkin goods to pack a punch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Good cake - nice and moist. Subbed 1/2 applesauce for oil. Used 2 9" rounds as I don't have a bundt pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
yummy..made this today in a tube pan left it plain after baking. added 1 tsp of pumpkin pie spice to batter to make it extra spicy. also had to bake a little longer than 1 hour by 5-minutes or so very moist and flavorful.making it again this weekend and will add nuts this time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
me and the family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States