Pumpkin Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
If you don't have any marzipan on hand for the stem you could always use an ice cream cone cup cake. They're very easy to make. Just take some cake batter and fill the cone 3/4 full and bake. Then just flip it upside down after it's been baked into the hole and frost with chocolate frosting. Voila! there's a stem that you can eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
This was fabulous! The only change I would make is to add 1 1/2 tsp. salt instead of 1/4 tsp. (Most homemade cakes like this call for 1 1/2 tsp. salt.) I made 2 of these for Halloween. I think I should have followed other reviewers and used 1/2 cup applesauce + 1/2 cup oil. 1 cup of oil is a lot of oil! I frosted the first cake with a homemade buttercream frosting, but it sure made the cake sweet. For the second cake, I used a powdered sugar drizzle (1 cup powdered sugar + 1 Tbl. milk), tinted orange, with green sugar sprinkles on the top of the cake, then I decorated it with some plastic spiders. Festive! I would definitely used the powdered sugar glaze again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
This was so moist and awesome! My husband hates pumpkin anything and he LOVED this! I took previous advice and cut the white sugar to 1 cup, added 2/3 cup brown sugar and added 1 tsp. baking powder in addition to the baking soda. Next time I will add an additional 1/2 tsp. baking powder. I also do not care for cloves so I omitted them and added 1/2 tsp. ground ginger and cut the nutmeg to 1/2 tsp. as well. It was so yummy covered with cream cheese icing. Also, I baked it in a 9 x 13 pan so you will need to cut the baking time down to about 40-45 min. Definitely do not want to overbake this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
Definite 5*, turned out perfect. I used half brown sugar, half white(thanks to someones advice), added 1 tsp baking powder, and went with the pecans,used only cinnamon and pumpkin pie spice and iced this bunt cake with cream cheese icing. This recipe would have been perfect still if i left it as was!!! We found this to be moist and full of flavor!! I'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynseey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
I used all the other reviewers' suggestion plus made some minor changes of my own. Instead of sugar, I used 1 cup of Splenda and 2/3 cup Brn. Sugar Splenda. I didn't have allsprice or cloves so I substituted pumpkin pie spice and I threw in some chocolate chips. The end result was a wonderfully moist, flavorful cake that was low in sugar. I will definitely make this cake again and share the recipe with family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2000
This cake is REALLY delicious, moist and flavourful! The really nice think about this recipe is that it is not terribly sweet. A dusting of powdered sugar or a simple powdered sugar and water icing add both visual character and the level of sweetness you desire. As a pumpkin addict, I have tried MANY pumpkin cakes, and this is the best one I have tasted so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
This is a good fall cake. It's also an old recipe, which is why it has so much oil and sugar. For the sugar, I only used 1 cup of brown sugar and a half cup of oil. I added all the spices listed, plus ginger and 1 teaspoon of baking powder, then baked it in a 9x13 pan. For those of you who say you skipped the cloves and think the cake is too bland, the cake needs the cloves. We had it with whipped cream. I baked it a bit too long, but it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2002
THIS RECIPE MAKES GREAT, HEALTHY PUMPKIN MUFFINS! I LIKE TO PUT WALNUT PIECES ON TOP. IT'S ALSO GOOD WITH POWDERED SUGAR OR CREAM CHEESE ICING ON TOP. I USE 1/2 THE OIL, AND SUBSTITUTE APPLE SAUCE TO REDUCE THE CALORIES.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2002
EXCELLENT!! I did however alter this recipe slightly. I used half brown sugar and half white sugar, added a little ginger and a cup of craisins and it turned out wonderful!! Thanks for such a great recipe--perfect for the holiday season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2003
This was great! I did add extra of all the spices except cloves. I added some ginger. I didnt' have vegetable oil so I used melted butter and it was fantastic. My daughter does not like pumpkin pie so this has become a new holiday tradition along side the pie. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States