Pumpkin Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2003
I used unsweetened applesauce in place of the oil (makes it spongier), followed the brown sugar/white sugar advice and also added a 3/4 cup sour cream (without the oil where was I gonna get the fat!? lol). It is a delish cake ~ used brown sugar and cinnamon combo sprinkled on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2003
The cake was very good although I did make a few changes. I used only 1/2 c. oil and 1/2 c. applesauce, and also added an extra 1/2t. of each cinnamon and cloves. It is extremely easy to make, and I will keep this recipe to make many times to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake In The Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2003
This was great! I did add extra of all the spices except cloves. I added some ginger. I didnt' have vegetable oil so I used melted butter and it was fantastic. My daughter does not like pumpkin pie so this has become a new holiday tradition along side the pie. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2003
I made this as a 2-layered round birthday cake with penuche frosting for my bf's birthday (had enough to make some cupcakes as well). I was debating whether or not i should have halved the recipe completely and just made the round cakes, but decided not to risk it. My boyfriend loved it, but I think the key was in the frosting, because the cake itself is a bit on the bland side--it needs just a little something more, but I can't put my finger on it. I only used half the oil and it was still very very moist--I would put even less if I were to make this cake again. I followed other reviewers' advice and used half brown sugar and half white sugar. I left out the cloves, compensating with more of the other spices, which I'm glad I did because the cloves tend to overpower the other. I rarely use nuts, so those were omitted as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
Definite 5*, turned out perfect. I used half brown sugar, half white(thanks to someones advice), added 1 tsp baking powder, and went with the pecans,used only cinnamon and pumpkin pie spice and iced this bunt cake with cream cheese icing. This recipe would have been perfect still if i left it as was!!! We found this to be moist and full of flavor!! I'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynseey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2002
I really like the taste of this cause it isn't super sweet, but it turned out really little. I figured the pumpkin would mix with the soda so it would rise, but I guess next time I will just add a little baking powder. Anyways, it tastes great with a little cream cheese glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2002
This is a great smelling cake, full of spice. However, it is a bit bland because it lacks flavor. There is nothing to make your tongue go 'wow' or to set the pumpkin element in. If one had their eyes masked, they would think it was soley a spice cake. I opted not to use the cloves because they are generally too much for a cake, especially a pumpkin one. I added ginger instead, usually used in pumpkin pies rather than cloves, which made it more gingerbready. The crust turns out very crusty at the top and chewy underneath, but the center is very moist. I used real pumpkin which gave an interesting texture, but I doubt canned pumpkin would provide drastically different results. I am sticking to pumpkin pie! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madame.D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2002
EXCELLENT!! I did however alter this recipe slightly. I used half brown sugar and half white sugar, added a little ginger and a cup of craisins and it turned out wonderful!! Thanks for such a great recipe--perfect for the holiday season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
this is the first time i have made a pumpkin cake in a tube pan . i didn't have the ground cloves so i left that out. the cake was great even with out the cloves. i will be making this for church socials. this is a "need to make" cake. jard
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
Excellent, easy and delicious. If you are a pumpkin pie lover, you will love this cake. Took no time at all to prepare. I even made it with pumpkin that I grew and cooked myself. If you are looking for a very moist, pumpkin spicy cake, this is the recipe for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJRobinson71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States