Pumpkin Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
If you don't have any marzipan on hand for the stem you could always use an ice cream cone cup cake. They're very easy to make. Just take some cake batter and fill the cone 3/4 full and bake. Then just flip it upside down after it's been baked into the hole and frost with chocolate frosting. Voila! there's a stem that you can eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
WOW! I thought the cloves might be overpowering but no way. This cake was AWESOME! I used 2 teaspoons of Allspice since I didn't have nutmeg. Worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
I gave this cake a try and am so glad I did. I did a little altering; used 3T. pumpkin pie spice instead of the seperate spices and it turned out fantastic!!! It tasted like pumpkin pie! Mmmmmm. :) I iced the cake with cream cheese. This cake is a MUST for anyone looking for a great dessert!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
I made this with the Whipped Cream Frosting from this site for my daughter's first birthday. I was looking for something that I would feel alright about allowing her a bite of, and this gave me that pleasure. I made a few changes: I used 1/2 of oil, 1/4 cup apple/sweet potato baby food (didn't have applesauce on hand) and 1/4+ cup of apple cider. I baked in two 9" pans for about 40 minutes. The cake was wonderful and the frosting was the perfect complement. Rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SemantiTheft

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Baltimore, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
I used all the other reviewers' suggestion plus made some minor changes of my own. Instead of sugar, I used 1 cup of Splenda and 2/3 cup Brn. Sugar Splenda. I didn't have allsprice or cloves so I substituted pumpkin pie spice and I threw in some chocolate chips. The end result was a wonderfully moist, flavorful cake that was low in sugar. I will definitely make this cake again and share the recipe with family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
I made this cake for my son's first birthday, which was actually Thanksgiving day this year. He has red hair so we call him pumpkin-head. Decorated to look like a pumpkin, this cake not only looked great but tasted great too. I've never made pumpkin cake before, so I have nothing to compare it too - but it was very easy to make. I will definitely use this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
My family LOVED this recipe, even though I ran out of eggs and used only two. I also cut the oil down to 3/4 since I was using fewer eggs. The result was a thicker batter, so I poured it into a loaf pan and it came out a more of a pumpkin bread. It is super moist, wonderful texture (don't omit the nuts!), and not too sweet. I rated this four stars only because I didn't follow the recipe exactly. I will use this recipe (albeit altered) the next time I want to make pumpkin bread! It was a deliciously happy accident!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KerryT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Danville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
This was fabulous! The only change I would make is to add 1 1/2 tsp. salt instead of 1/4 tsp. (Most homemade cakes like this call for 1 1/2 tsp. salt.) I made 2 of these for Halloween. I think I should have followed other reviewers and used 1/2 cup applesauce + 1/2 cup oil. 1 cup of oil is a lot of oil! I frosted the first cake with a homemade buttercream frosting, but it sure made the cake sweet. For the second cake, I used a powdered sugar drizzle (1 cup powdered sugar + 1 Tbl. milk), tinted orange, with green sugar sprinkles on the top of the cake, then I decorated it with some plastic spiders. Festive! I would definitely used the powdered sugar glaze again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
Recipe ingredient amount for oil calls for 1 cup - this is WAY TOO MUCH OIL and it was a waste of my time and money to use this recipe. Not edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
I made this cake for thanksgiving this year and my teenaged grandchildren ate the whole thing, I didn't even get a chance to taste it. They said it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States