Pumpkin Cake with Orange Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2003
if your looking for a basic pumpkin cake recipe this is nice and moist but the orange glaze really didnt add alot of flavor or appeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
Nice flavorful and moist cake. I served it to a group of friends, and even the avowed "pumpkin-haters" gobbled it up! I made the vanilla frosting instead of the orange (but I used real butter---shhh!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCKim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
Moist & tasted just like pumpkin pie! I didn't add the raisins (we aren't raisin fans). I also used butter. I neglected to read the part about melting it; didn't seem to matter! I didn't use the glazes, so I can't rate them. I used Caramel Frosting VI. Next time I'll try a cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RueBarbe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
This is a great cake. I didn't add the raisins, or the walnuts. I did add a teaspoon of vanilla, which I think added just a little punch. The glaze is very good, with just a hint of orange and adds moistness to the cake, although it doesn't really need it. I served it as part of my Thanksgiving desserts and my family just loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
I'll definitely be making this again. The only change I made was to replace half of the all purpose flour with cake and pastry flour (but I do that will all my cakes), and it was awesome! Definitely wait until the cake has cooled off completely to glaze it, though. Mine was still warm because I was in a rush and it kind of disappeared, but still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
added 1/2 cup dried cranberries as well.DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
loved this recipe! really easy. really moist. i did a pumpkin whip cream with it and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I made this cake with the vanilla icing and my family positively devoured it. This cake is so moist and tastes even better the day after it's been baked. If you're looking for a recipe for pumpkin cake, look no farther; this is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
I used dried cranberries instead of raisins and doubled the orange zest in the glaze which made a huge difference. Very moist and flavorful. It was a huge hit for Thanksgiving last year so I'm making it up again this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
It was very moist, but it was a little denser than I expected. Maybe it was the silicone bunt pan I used -- not sure. I may try it again in another pan, but it wasn't my favorite. The flavor was pretty good. I added some Pumpkin pie spice in addition to the other spices to boost the pumpkin flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PinkPrincess

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make classic chocolate-chip cookies.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States