Pumpkin Cake with Orange Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I bought by mistake pumpkin pie filling instead the can solid-pack pumpkin and I had to use it. The cake turned out perfect! Very good recipe, very tasty and easy to make. A must for holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blue in MI
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Very good cake and it fixed my pumpkin craving. This is a very, very moist cake and I think I probably should have baked it an extra five minutes but it's still good. I left out the raisins and replaced with pecans. I used a different glaze on top (melted butter, milk, powdered sugar and cinnamon) and it was delicious. I also used oil instead of shortening and it was fine. Great cake for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Photo by PamMar
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
This cake was amazing! It was so moist and delicious, even my husband who doesn't really like pumpkin loved it. I did not do the orange glaze because I didn't have any oranges so I did a pumpkin spice glaze and no walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PamMar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Wellington, Florida, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
No wonder I liked this cake - it wasn't until I tasted it and remembered another Crisco pumpkin cake I made not long ago, that I learned the two are the same! Just as my rating for "A Little Country Pumpkin Cake," this is 5-star good - moist, dense and not too sweet. I was tempted to omit the raisins, but did include them and they are a worthy addition, but not necessary. I also used vegetable oil rather than the melted Crisco, saving myself a few minutes. I drizzled the cake with a simple powdered sugar glaze to which I added a couple of good shakes of cinnamon. Very pumpkin-y!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
It was very moist, but it was a little denser than I expected. Maybe it was the silicone bunt pan I used -- not sure. I may try it again in another pan, but it wasn't my favorite. The flavor was pretty good. I added some Pumpkin pie spice in addition to the other spices to boost the pumpkin flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PinkPrincess

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
I used dried cranberries instead of raisins and doubled the orange zest in the glaze which made a huge difference. Very moist and flavorful. It was a huge hit for Thanksgiving last year so I'm making it up again this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I made this cake with the vanilla icing and my family positively devoured it. This cake is so moist and tastes even better the day after it's been baked. If you're looking for a recipe for pumpkin cake, look no farther; this is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
loved this recipe! really easy. really moist. i did a pumpkin whip cream with it and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
added 1/2 cup dried cranberries as well.DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
I'll definitely be making this again. The only change I made was to replace half of the all purpose flour with cake and pastry flour (but I do that will all my cakes), and it was awesome! Definitely wait until the cake has cooled off completely to glaze it, though. Mine was still warm because I was in a rush and it kind of disappeared, but still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make classic chocolate-chip cookies.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States