Pumpkin Cake with Orange Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
loved this recipe! really easy. really moist. i did a pumpkin whip cream with it and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
added 1/2 cup dried cranberries as well.DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
No wonder I liked this cake - it wasn't until I tasted it and remembered another Crisco pumpkin cake I made not long ago, that I learned the two are the same! Just as my rating for "A Little Country Pumpkin Cake," this is 5-star good - moist, dense and not too sweet. I was tempted to omit the raisins, but did include them and they are a worthy addition, but not necessary. I also used vegetable oil rather than the melted Crisco, saving myself a few minutes. I drizzled the cake with a simple powdered sugar glaze to which I added a couple of good shakes of cinnamon. Very pumpkin-y!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Very good cake and it fixed my pumpkin craving. This is a very, very moist cake and I think I probably should have baked it an extra five minutes but it's still good. I left out the raisins and replaced with pecans. I used a different glaze on top (melted butter, milk, powdered sugar and cinnamon) and it was delicious. I also used oil instead of shortening and it was fine. Great cake for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Photo by PamMar
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
This cake was amazing! It was so moist and delicious, even my husband who doesn't really like pumpkin loved it. I did not do the orange glaze because I didn't have any oranges so I did a pumpkin spice glaze and no walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PamMar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Wellington, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
I'll definitely be making this again. The only change I made was to replace half of the all purpose flour with cake and pastry flour (but I do that will all my cakes), and it was awesome! Definitely wait until the cake has cooled off completely to glaze it, though. Mine was still warm because I was in a rush and it kind of disappeared, but still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
This is a great cake. I didn't add the raisins, or the walnuts. I did add a teaspoon of vanilla, which I think added just a little punch. The glaze is very good, with just a hint of orange and adds moistness to the cake, although it doesn't really need it. I served it as part of my Thanksgiving desserts and my family just loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I bought by mistake pumpkin pie filling instead the can solid-pack pumpkin and I had to use it. The cake turned out perfect! Very good recipe, very tasty and easy to make. A must for holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blue in MI
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
A great way to surprise everyone with a new pumpkin recipe for the holidays! I substituted applesauce for the oil. This made it more dense, but still very good. Also, I used only 1.5 cups of sugar which did not sacrifice the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I made this cake with the vanilla icing and my family positively devoured it. This cake is so moist and tastes even better the day after it's been baked. If you're looking for a recipe for pumpkin cake, look no farther; this is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make classic chocolate-chip cookies.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States