Pumpkin Cake with Orange Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
No wonder I liked this cake - it wasn't until I tasted it and remembered another Crisco pumpkin cake I made not long ago, that I learned the two are the same! Just as my rating for "A Little Country Pumpkin Cake," this is 5-star good - moist, dense and not too sweet. I was tempted to omit the raisins, but did include them and they are a worthy addition, but not necessary. I also used vegetable oil rather than the melted Crisco, saving myself a few minutes. I drizzled the cake with a simple powdered sugar glaze to which I added a couple of good shakes of cinnamon. Very pumpkin-y!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
I used dried cranberries instead of raisins and doubled the orange zest in the glaze which made a huge difference. Very moist and flavorful. It was a huge hit for Thanksgiving last year so I'm making it up again this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2003
if your looking for a basic pumpkin cake recipe this is nice and moist but the orange glaze really didnt add alot of flavor or appeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
A great way to surprise everyone with a new pumpkin recipe for the holidays! I substituted applesauce for the oil. This made it more dense, but still very good. Also, I used only 1.5 cups of sugar which did not sacrifice the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
The first time I made this it was good enough to make again, but with some modifications. I changed the following ingredient amounts to: 1-1/2 c. sugar, 1/2 c. Crisco oil, 3 eggs, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp ginger, added 1/4 tsp nutmeg. The original recipe had too much cinnamon and ginger for my taste and my pie recipe has nutmeg so I threw that in. I wanted to reduce the sugar and eggs and I didn't want to have to melt some shortening. I've done it both with and without raisins and it's good either way. It turned out fine with these modifications and I personally like it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Very good cake and it fixed my pumpkin craving. This is a very, very moist cake and I think I probably should have baked it an extra five minutes but it's still good. I left out the raisins and replaced with pecans. I used a different glaze on top (melted butter, milk, powdered sugar and cinnamon) and it was delicious. I also used oil instead of shortening and it was fine. Great cake for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
I'll definitely be making this again. The only change I made was to replace half of the all purpose flour with cake and pastry flour (but I do that will all my cakes), and it was awesome! Definitely wait until the cake has cooled off completely to glaze it, though. Mine was still warm because I was in a rush and it kind of disappeared, but still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PamMar
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
This cake was amazing! It was so moist and delicious, even my husband who doesn't really like pumpkin loved it. I did not do the orange glaze because I didn't have any oranges so I did a pumpkin spice glaze and no walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PamMar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Wellington, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
This is a great cake. I didn't add the raisins, or the walnuts. I did add a teaspoon of vanilla, which I think added just a little punch. The glaze is very good, with just a hint of orange and adds moistness to the cake, although it doesn't really need it. I served it as part of my Thanksgiving desserts and my family just loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
Moist & tasted just like pumpkin pie! I didn't add the raisins (we aren't raisin fans). I also used butter. I neglected to read the part about melting it; didn't seem to matter! I didn't use the glazes, so I can't rate them. I used Caramel Frosting VI. Next time I'll try a cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RueBarbe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make classic chocolate-chip cookies.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States