Pumpkin Cake with Orange Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
No wonder I liked this cake - it wasn't until I tasted it and remembered another Crisco pumpkin cake I made not long ago, that I learned the two are the same! Just as my rating for "A Little Country Pumpkin Cake," this is 5-star good - moist, dense and not too sweet. I was tempted to omit the raisins, but did include them and they are a worthy addition, but not necessary. I also used vegetable oil rather than the melted Crisco, saving myself a few minutes. I drizzled the cake with a simple powdered sugar glaze to which I added a couple of good shakes of cinnamon. Very pumpkin-y!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
I used dried cranberries instead of raisins and doubled the orange zest in the glaze which made a huge difference. Very moist and flavorful. It was a huge hit for Thanksgiving last year so I'm making it up again this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2003
if your looking for a basic pumpkin cake recipe this is nice and moist but the orange glaze really didnt add alot of flavor or appeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
A great way to surprise everyone with a new pumpkin recipe for the holidays! I substituted applesauce for the oil. This made it more dense, but still very good. Also, I used only 1.5 cups of sugar which did not sacrifice the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
The first time I made this it was good enough to make again, but with some modifications. I changed the following ingredient amounts to: 1-1/2 c. sugar, 1/2 c. Crisco oil, 3 eggs, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp ginger, added 1/4 tsp nutmeg. The original recipe had too much cinnamon and ginger for my taste and my pie recipe has nutmeg so I threw that in. I wanted to reduce the sugar and eggs and I didn't want to have to melt some shortening. I've done it both with and without raisins and it's good either way. It turned out fine with these modifications and I personally like it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Very good cake and it fixed my pumpkin craving. This is a very, very moist cake and I think I probably should have baked it an extra five minutes but it's still good. I left out the raisins and replaced with pecans. I used a different glaze on top (melted butter, milk, powdered sugar and cinnamon) and it was delicious. I also used oil instead of shortening and it was fine. Great cake for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
I'll definitely be making this again. The only change I made was to replace half of the all purpose flour with cake and pastry flour (but I do that will all my cakes), and it was awesome! Definitely wait until the cake has cooled off completely to glaze it, though. Mine was still warm because I was in a rush and it kind of disappeared, but still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PamMar
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
This cake was amazing! It was so moist and delicious, even my husband who doesn't really like pumpkin loved it. I did not do the orange glaze because I didn't have any oranges so I did a pumpkin spice glaze and no walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PamMar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Wellington, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
This is a great cake. I didn't add the raisins, or the walnuts. I did add a teaspoon of vanilla, which I think added just a little punch. The glaze is very good, with just a hint of orange and adds moistness to the cake, although it doesn't really need it. I served it as part of my Thanksgiving desserts and my family just loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
Moist & tasted just like pumpkin pie! I didn't add the raisins (we aren't raisin fans). I also used butter. I neglected to read the part about melting it; didn't seem to matter! I didn't use the glazes, so I can't rate them. I used Caramel Frosting VI. Next time I'll try a cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RueBarbe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make classic chocolate-chip cookies.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States