Pumpkin Cake with Orange Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
I'd give this 3 1/2 if I could. The cake was nice, but not special. It did look lovely come out of the bundt pan cleanly. I didn't like the raisins either; they seemed to me to interrupt the texture. The glaze didn't give me that zing of orange flavor I'd hoped for; I think I'd try o.j. concentrate next time, or maybe a little extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Atlantic, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I made this tonight with 1/3 cup coco powder and replaced the crisco with butter. Delicious! Everyone loved it! I debated with what I should put on top, I ended up using powdered sugar. Great recipe with a little tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I made this for Christmas day dessert. All of my extended family raved about it. I made it the day before and it was so moist. I did not have crisco and used 1/2 cup melted butter and 1/2 cup of grapeseed oil instead. Absolutely perfect! (I did not make the glaze, just sifted icing sugar over the top before serving.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MagicallyDelicious
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
This is such a moist cake. It's more spice flavored than pumpkin, so I used a caramel glaze from another recipe, and it was the perfect flavor with it. I'm guessing this cake won't last long - great Fall flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
The first time I made this it was good enough to make again, but with some modifications. I changed the following ingredient amounts to: 1-1/2 c. sugar, 1/2 c. Crisco oil, 3 eggs, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp ginger, added 1/4 tsp nutmeg. The original recipe had too much cinnamon and ginger for my taste and my pie recipe has nutmeg so I threw that in. I wanted to reduce the sugar and eggs and I didn't want to have to melt some shortening. I've done it both with and without raisins and it's good either way. It turned out fine with these modifications and I personally like it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
A great way to surprise everyone with a new pumpkin recipe for the holidays! I substituted applesauce for the oil. This made it more dense, but still very good. Also, I used only 1.5 cups of sugar which did not sacrifice the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I bought by mistake pumpkin pie filling instead the can solid-pack pumpkin and I had to use it. The cake turned out perfect! Very good recipe, very tasty and easy to make. A must for holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blue in MI
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Very good cake and it fixed my pumpkin craving. This is a very, very moist cake and I think I probably should have baked it an extra five minutes but it's still good. I left out the raisins and replaced with pecans. I used a different glaze on top (melted butter, milk, powdered sugar and cinnamon) and it was delicious. I also used oil instead of shortening and it was fine. Great cake for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Photo by PamMar
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
This cake was amazing! It was so moist and delicious, even my husband who doesn't really like pumpkin loved it. I did not do the orange glaze because I didn't have any oranges so I did a pumpkin spice glaze and no walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PamMar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Wellington, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make classic chocolate-chip cookies.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States