Pumpkin Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
I used this recipe as my first attempt replacing vegetable oil with olive oil and everybody thought it was delicious. I also cut the sugar in half which was well-received by both the health-conscious and those just looking for a tasty party treat. When I was making the batter I thought of one review that complained about how oily it was...maybe the problem was that it calls for 2 cups of pumpkin? That was around a (15 oz)can and a half for me when measuring by volume and not weight...Next time I would adjust the recipe to fit one can of puree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
I adapted this recipe to make a chocolate and pumpkin layer with brown butter frosting. The only changes I made were to up the spice amount and cut a little of the oil (using coconut oil). It came out moist and sooo beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
Needs more flavor and flour. As written, this recipe produced flat cupcakes due to too much moisture. My suggestions: Instead of using all vegetable oil, use half butter & half oil. Cake will turn out more tender with a finer texture. Add an additional 1/2c. flour 1/2 t. dry ground ginger 1 t. cinnamon 1/2 t. ground cloves FYI: Don't have canned pumpkin? -Canned drained, pureed sweet potatoes can be substituted for pumpkin. Delicious when topped with a crumb topping too. Make it in small loaf pans for gift giving. Your friends will love it. After making the additions, you'll agree it rates 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
this was one of the best I have tried! Made cupcakes and added cinnamon to basic cream cheese frosting....DELISH
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phillipsburg, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
This was the best cake that I ever made. Everyone loved it. I did add 1/4 tsp of nutmeg and 1/4 tsp of cloves. I used the Cream Cheese Frosting II and they worked perfectly together. I baked it in two 9" round pans to turn it into a two layer cake and I needed to bake it for 35 minutes. YUM! I will definitely make this again!!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
So simple, so Delicious. Will be making this again in the future. My husband can't get enough of it. He's a picky eater, and went for seconds. A+!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
This is a delicious cake! The only changes I made were using a fresh pumpkin from my garden instead of canned pumpkin and following the advise of others by using only 3/4 cup of oil along with 1/2 cup of applesauce. I did not have a handy sheet cake pan, so I used a 9X11 and increased the baking time by 10 minutes. It turned out perfectly. I frosted it with vanilla frosting to make more of a dessert, but frosting is totally not necessary as it tastes great by itself. Oh, and I am allergic to walnuts, so I used pecans. Thanks for the recipe, I have 7 more pumpkins from my garden to use up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3daisys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livermore, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
yummy cake! i substituted brown sugar and coconut oil then added ginger, allspice. moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LRitter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
This recipe was such a success! Some of the criticisms complain about the amount of oil used, but considering there is no dairy (butter, milk, yogurt, etc.) used in the recipe it makes sense there would be some other element involved. Which is something I love about this recipe: I can share it with our friends who are allergic to dairy! I did add about a 1/4 cup extra flour to thicken up the batter, 1 cup white sugar and 1 cup brown sugar, and pumpkin pie spice instead of straight cinnamon. I'm really looking forward to serving them with cream cheese frosting for our holiday party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
This sheet cake turned out great. I cut the oil in half and added another 3/4 cup of pumpkin. I also added 4 tsp. of pumpkin pie spice as suggested in another review. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 617) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States