Pumpkin Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
This cake is delicious! I took the advice of other reviews and used 3/4 c oil + 1/2 c applesauce. I also added more cinnamon plus nutmeg, all spice & cloves because I love spices. I used 1/2 splenda & 1/2 sugar, and it was great. Used a 9 X 13 pan and cake was ready in 35 min. Topped with Cream Cheese Frosting II from this site. Everyone is raving about it - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
619 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly, but I wanted my cake to look like the lovely cake in the photo so if you do too, remember a bundt cake form is going to take longer than 30 minutes! Everybody raved about this cake after dinner, I'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
429 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2002
I have made this cake so many times and it is always greeted with the BEST reviews. I use a 9x12 and top with Cream Cheese Frosting II (from this site submitted by JJ) and sprinkle with cinnamon/sugar. I have even made a superb apple spice cake with this recipe, simply replacing the pumpkin with an equivalent amount of unsweetened apple butter. This is really something phenomenal... I wish I could give it 10 zillion stars. Thanks Sue
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
347 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
Very, very moist and delicious. Does not need frosting! I used applesauce--3/4 cup and 1/2 cup oil. I added 1/2 tsp. ground cloves, and 1/4 tsp. ground ginger. My entire family loved it, even my 5 and 2 year olds! Baked as a bundt cake for 45 minutes, or yields approximately 28 muffins (3/4 full), baked for 18-20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
268 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
Did 3/4 c. oil and 1/2 c. unsweet apple sauce, also added 4 tsp pumpkin spice seasoning and 1/2 tsp ground cloves. Did the cream cheese frosting II with 2 tsp cinnamon and 1 tsp pumpkin with an extra half cup of powdered sugar and 2 tsp of vanilla. I had to give more than half of my cake away to guests for leftovers and promised my husbands co-worker I'd make it for their Thanksgiving lunch. Can't wait to make it again, great reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2001
Moist, delicious cake. I converted it to cupcakes by just reducing the baking time to 20 minutes. I will definitely add this recipe to my recipe box at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
Instead of making a sheet cake, I poured the batter into 3 layer pans, and made a layer cake (bake for 35 minutes). I followed the advice to use 3/4 cup oil and 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce. Also as suggested, I used JJ's cream cheese frosting II on this site, and had enough frosting left over to top the wonderful 90-minute cinnamon rolls, also on this site. I took the layer cake to a potluck and not even a crumb was left. Thank you, Sue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
If someone could come up with a yellow or white cake version of this cake they should PATENT it. I mean, I can only imagine a yellow cake this light, fluffy and moist! Make no mistake, this cake is CAKE, not a heavy, dense quick bread simply baked in a cake pan. It has a beautiful, vivid pumpkin-orange hue, no doubt because it is subtlely spiced with a mere 2 tsp. of cinnamon. I liked that - it was nice to have a pumpkin cake where the flavor of the pumpkin was so bold and not hidden underneath tons of spices. While I would have loved to make this in a cake pan (if for no other reason than simplicity) and drizzled it with a glaze, cupcakes were more practical for my needs. I baked them at 350 degrees, about 23 minutes. I gave them just a little plop of vanilla buttercream to which I added cinnamon to taste. While a cream cheese frosting would have been good too, I liked this combination a lot! I have made a lot of pumpkin cakes over the years, many from this site. I hope I remember this one - it's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
I halved this recipe and used an 8x8 dish. I eliminated the cinnamon and used 1 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice in its place. This took 35 minutes to bake (center was not cooked through at 30 minutes). I used nutty cream cheese frosting (from this site) and topped with a handful of chopped walnuts. It was SO GOOD and MOIST! My family went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
EXCELLENT! THE ONLY THING I CHANGED WAS THAT MY HUSBAND LOVES A LOT OF SPICE IN HIS CAKE SO I INCREASED THE SPICES TO 3 tsp. CINNAMON 3 tsp. GINGER and 3 tsp. CLOVES. BE WARNED THIS MAKES A LOT OF CAKE...AND ITS A GOOD THING CAUSE AFTER TOPPING WITH CREAM CHEESE ICING AND CHOPPED WALNUTS IT WENT IN NO TIME FLAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERRYGIRL400
Home Town: Greenup, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Ayden, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 622) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States