Pumpkin Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Gina
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
My mother loved this cake!!! It's the first time she ever said I have to have this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Texture is more like muffin than cake or loaf. Cake had larger crumbs and was really moist compared to other cake I've baked. It's also not as dense as a loaf. Not bad and may make again if I have left over pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by I'm a keeper
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
I made this recipe for Halloween and it was the best pumpkin recipe so far. I made cupcakes and it made 26. I also did the 3/4 c oil and 1/2 c unsweetened applesauce. I added 1 1/2 tsp cinn 1/2 tsp cloves 1/2 tsp ginger 1/4 tsp nutmeg. Piped beautiful cream cheese frosting swirls on top. I rate this a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
WOW. Is how I explain it. Gotta try it second of all. I took everyone elses advice. I did 1/2 c. oil, 3/4 c. apple sauce, and I think I added just about every spice in my house made for sweets. All spice, pumpkin pie spice, cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger. Then I matched it with a creamy cream cheese frosting. Not overly sweet. Topped mine with pecans and ate a HUGE slice of cake.. My only issue, is it took forever to cool, even had to put it in my freezer. Would do it again and again, and this will be a staple in my kitchen for years to come. THANK YOU. If my grand-ma were here, she would ask me for this recipe. Reminds me of love and home. God Bless Karen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheChristianBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
THIS WAS AMAZZZZZZIIINNNNGGGGG!!!!!! it was super easy to make... i only did cook it in a bundt pan rather then how it says here.... it was complete cooked at 55 min. the way was killing me it smelled amazing! thank you for this recipe i will keep doing it even after the HOLIDAYS!!!! there is no way to mess up this recipe... super moist and super flavorful!!!!! thank you!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Perez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
First time I ever made a home made cake. It came out amazingly. It took about 40-45 minutes in a glass Pyrex pan. The video is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
you can make carrot cake the same way and it's a big hit at ant gathering
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Hiawatha, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Lots of changes necessary if you're a pumpkin fan & want to make it yummy. I did all the oil, but agree with others that it can be reduced. The Libby pumpkin roll recipe doesn't even call for oil at all. My cake is hot out of the oven, but I cut into it anyway & I do think it could get too moist as usually cake gets more moist as it cools & seasons. Definitely cut out 1/4 cup. If you think about it - cake mixes don't ever call for that much oil & cake mixes aren't using moist pumpkin. Mine needed more salt - it was super duper bland without extra salt. It also needed extra cinnamon, ginger, allspice and nutmeg to help the pumpkin really stand out. You really don't need that much sugar either, especially if you plan to frost the cake. If you're not frosting, then it's fine. If you're surprised by the 5 stars - think back to all the pot lucks & bake sales you've been too & store bought pumpkin pies that are orange, bland with very little spices in them. That's how it got 5 stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 75077
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
very good cake, very dense and moist, i mixed the oil with the applesause per other users and that worked out very well. I used two teaspoons pumpkin pie spice, next time i will try 3. Topped with cream cheese frosting, made a nice large cake, it does sink as it cools.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookergirl
Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Delicious just as everyone said. The only small changes I made was to reduce the oil based on other comments to 1 cup, added a few shakes of nutmeg, ginger, allspice and cloves. I made a cream cheese frosting and it was wonderful. Used a 9x13 pan and cooked about 40 minutes. Very moist and not heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 641) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States