Pumpkin Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
THIS WAS AMAZZZZZZIIINNNNGGGGG!!!!!! it was super easy to make... i only did cook it in a bundt pan rather then how it says here.... it was complete cooked at 55 min. the way was killing me it smelled amazing! thank you for this recipe i will keep doing it even after the HOLIDAYS!!!! there is no way to mess up this recipe... super moist and super flavorful!!!!! thank you!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Perez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
First time I ever made a home made cake. It came out amazingly. It took about 40-45 minutes in a glass Pyrex pan. The video is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
you can make carrot cake the same way and it's a big hit at ant gathering
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Hiawatha, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Lots of changes necessary if you're a pumpkin fan & want to make it yummy. I did all the oil, but agree with others that it can be reduced. The Libby pumpkin roll recipe doesn't even call for oil at all. My cake is hot out of the oven, but I cut into it anyway & I do think it could get too moist as usually cake gets more moist as it cools & seasons. Definitely cut out 1/4 cup. If you think about it - cake mixes don't ever call for that much oil & cake mixes aren't using moist pumpkin. Mine needed more salt - it was super duper bland without extra salt. It also needed extra cinnamon, ginger, allspice and nutmeg to help the pumpkin really stand out. You really don't need that much sugar either, especially if you plan to frost the cake. If you're not frosting, then it's fine. If you're surprised by the 5 stars - think back to all the pot lucks & bake sales you've been too & store bought pumpkin pies that are orange, bland with very little spices in them. That's how it got 5 stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 75077
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
very good cake, very dense and moist, i mixed the oil with the applesause per other users and that worked out very well. I used two teaspoons pumpkin pie spice, next time i will try 3. Topped with cream cheese frosting, made a nice large cake, it does sink as it cools.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookergirl
Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Delicious just as everyone said. The only small changes I made was to reduce the oil based on other comments to 1 cup, added a few shakes of nutmeg, ginger, allspice and cloves. I made a cream cheese frosting and it was wonderful. Used a 9x13 pan and cooked about 40 minutes. Very moist and not heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Very nice, moist cake. I made it for my husband's birthday tonight and he really enjoyed it. It was a bit oily and just a hint of baking soda after taste. I made it in a 13x9 pan and baked it an extra ten minutes due to size of pan and cake wasn't done at 30 minutes. Thank-you for a great recipe. I followed it exactly as written. By the way while this was baking the house smelled amazing of cinnamon and pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Michigan, USA
Living In: Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I followed the recipe and made one bundt cake and six cupcakes with this. I thought it was good. I didn't add icing but it would be really good with icing on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Yummy. I subbed out 1/2 cup of oil for unsweetened applesauce. Added almost 3 tsp cinnamon and also added 1/4 tsp each of nutmeg, ginger and allspice. This was a super moist cake and def a keeper! Topped it off with a spiced cream cheese frosting ( 8 oz cream cheese, 1/4 cup butter, 1 tsp vanilla, two cups confect sugar and 1/2 tsp pumpkin spice). I baked mine in the largest size Pyrex dish I have for 35 min. The family loved it. Great cake for a cool and cloudy fall day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baria
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
I have tried this recipe and it was Amazing, my kids loved it:)) but I put instead of 1 1/4 oil I put 3/4 and it worked!! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 637) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States