Pumpkin Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Did it exactly as written and I got a moist and fluffy cake. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
So I followed the recipe exactly except for a few things... In addition to the vanilla flavoring I also added some imitation butter and imitation maple extract- a flavor combo I thought would be appropriate, and it was! Another thing: by the time I had the batter all poured into the pan, I realized: I forgot the eggs!!! "@&$#%¥^!!!! I thought it was ruined but I put it in the oven anyway (baked mine in a bundt pan, took about 50 min to cook at 350F), took it out and it was fine! Veerrrryyyy moist, which was okay with me. Drizzled it with cream cheese icing. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gina
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
My mother loved this cake!!! It's the first time she ever said I have to have this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Texture is more like muffin than cake or loaf. Cake had larger crumbs and was really moist compared to other cake I've baked. It's also not as dense as a loaf. Not bad and may make again if I have left over pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by I'm a keeper
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
I made this recipe for Halloween and it was the best pumpkin recipe so far. I made cupcakes and it made 26. I also did the 3/4 c oil and 1/2 c unsweetened applesauce. I added 1 1/2 tsp cinn 1/2 tsp cloves 1/2 tsp ginger 1/4 tsp nutmeg. Piped beautiful cream cheese frosting swirls on top. I rate this a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
WOW. Is how I explain it. Gotta try it second of all. I took everyone elses advice. I did 1/2 c. oil, 3/4 c. apple sauce, and I think I added just about every spice in my house made for sweets. All spice, pumpkin pie spice, cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger. Then I matched it with a creamy cream cheese frosting. Not overly sweet. Topped mine with pecans and ate a HUGE slice of cake.. My only issue, is it took forever to cool, even had to put it in my freezer. Would do it again and again, and this will be a staple in my kitchen for years to come. THANK YOU. If my grand-ma were here, she would ask me for this recipe. Reminds me of love and home. God Bless Karen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheChristianBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
THIS WAS AMAZZZZZZIIINNNNGGGGG!!!!!! it was super easy to make... i only did cook it in a bundt pan rather then how it says here.... it was complete cooked at 55 min. the way was killing me it smelled amazing! thank you for this recipe i will keep doing it even after the HOLIDAYS!!!! there is no way to mess up this recipe... super moist and super flavorful!!!!! thank you!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Perez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
First time I ever made a home made cake. It came out amazingly. It took about 40-45 minutes in a glass Pyrex pan. The video is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
you can make carrot cake the same way and it's a big hit at ant gathering
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Hiawatha, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Lots of changes necessary if you're a pumpkin fan & want to make it yummy. I did all the oil, but agree with others that it can be reduced. The Libby pumpkin roll recipe doesn't even call for oil at all. My cake is hot out of the oven, but I cut into it anyway & I do think it could get too moist as usually cake gets more moist as it cools & seasons. Definitely cut out 1/4 cup. If you think about it - cake mixes don't ever call for that much oil & cake mixes aren't using moist pumpkin. Mine needed more salt - it was super duper bland without extra salt. It also needed extra cinnamon, ginger, allspice and nutmeg to help the pumpkin really stand out. You really don't need that much sugar either, especially if you plan to frost the cake. If you're not frosting, then it's fine. If you're surprised by the 5 stars - think back to all the pot lucks & bake sales you've been too & store bought pumpkin pies that are orange, bland with very little spices in them. That's how it got 5 stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 75077

Displaying results 11-20 (of 633) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States