Pumpkin Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
I just made this, turned out perfect, though I did make some alterations. 1 1/4 cups of oil is an awful lot, so I took the advice of the other reviewers and made some substitutions. I used a half cup of oil, then instead of applesauce I used extra pumpkin to make up the last 3/4 cup. So instead of 1 1/4 cups oil, its 1/2 cup oil plus 3/4 cup pumpkin (a 29 oz can of pumpkin covers all this plus a little extra). I also added extra spices, a 1/4 teaspoon each ginger, nutmeg, and ground cloves. I think it would be bland without the spice, but I like strong flavors. And with the extra pumpkin the spices don't overwhelm the pumpkin flavor. Oh, and I cooked it in a 14.5x11 pan and it was done in 25 minutes (my oven burns a little hot). Overall I plan on using this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
There are way better recipes out there for pumpkin cake than this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I look forward to fall every year just so I can make this cake! It's so moist and flavorful. Foolproof recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brandon, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Loved this cake and it lasted forever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I made this exactly as the recipe said and it turned out to be absolutely delicious!! It was super moist and did not even need any icing. We ate the entire thing in a day. Will definately be making this cake again (maybe try them as cupcakes)!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Our family and friends loved them! We had some friends over to watch a football game and we were looking for something to fix for a quick dessert to go with dinner and stumbled across this. While it wasn't quick, it sounded so yummy we decided to go for it. We admittedly tweaked it a bit. First we decided for the sake of speeding things up, to make cupcakes. Perfect use of this recipe! It's light and delicious and moist! A little messy, we make sure the kids aren't over the carpet to enjoy them but a good change we felt. We used the entire LARGE can of pumpkin. Yes that looks like a lot and is well over the two c. the recipe calls for and no it's not going to be a problem. It made the recipe very, very moist. They were great fresh out of the oven all warm and springy, but they were so much better the next morning after all that pumpkin had truly married with the other ingredients. Go with the extra. We also felt that just cinnamon was probably like a poorly spiced pumpkin pie, a bad call. So we added an 1/8th of a teaspoon of ground ginger and nutmeg to the dry mix. And because I live in the middle of a pecan grove, we used those instead of walnuts. The recipe made 30 standard cupcakes when filling the cups 2/3rds full. They rose well and were a fantastic hit with everyone. Least to say 24 hours later they are gone. And everyone is asking when we're making more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bath, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Jefferson, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I made the adjustments suggested by other reviewers and also added some nutmeg, clove, and ginger. Was very good and moist. Used a 9x13 dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Excellent!! Love it! We use the mix to make cupcakes and they were a hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This was excellent. I made cupcakes instead of cake. I also added some ginger and nutmeg, along with some shredded carrot and about 2 tsp of buttermilk. It is exceptionally smooth and moist and FABULOUS with peanut butter icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by genna1020

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This was the first time I made pumpkin cake and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OolyndeoO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 637) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States