Pumpkin Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
Other than using fresh pumpkin puree from last fall I chose to do 1/2 light olive oil and 1/2 homemade applesauce (5/8 cup each), since my pumpkin was fresh I added 1/2 tsp each cloves and ginger. I omitted the nuts since this is a cake and used 1 cup dark chocolate chips instead. I only had a 8 x 12 glass pan so baking has taken 45 min instead of 30min(thicker). Very Good! Topped it with a cream cheese frosting. This ones goes in my saved recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
Great recipe. I used 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg and 1/2 tsp cloves rather than 2 tsp cinnamon and only 3 eggs. Made it in a loaf pan and it took about twice as long to cook, but came out so moist, not oily at all (tinfoil on top 1/2 way through cooking to keep it from burning on top). Everyone in my family loved it. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
Great Recipe as is! Because my Wife has diabetes I also tried it with 1C Brown sugar and the equivalent of one cup stevia(24 packets). I also used 1/2 C oil and 3/4C unsweetened Apple sauce. I reduced the nuts to 1 /2 C. I like 1T of Pumpkin pie spice plus 3/4 teaspoon of cinnamon and I would love a touch of clove but my daughter is allergic so I did not add it. This is a keeper with either version! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holbrook, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
Just the best, super moist, super good. So far the best one that I made with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2015
This was so most and delish. Made it last week. Husband took in his lunch for 2 days with other left overs. The guys at his job said hes a lucky man.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
Very strong pumpkin flavor and extremely moist. My friend called it, "pumpkin-tastic!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
Easy to put together for a delicious homemade treat. My only sub was to use 1/2 cup oil and 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce in place of the 1 1/4 cup oil. I spread most of the batter in a 9x13 pan and finished the rest in a six inch diameter round cake pan. We got to sample the cake and still had a whole one for guests! Used cream cheese frosting. I am glad that people make changes to recipes and post reviews anyway...I would not have made this with all that oil. Thanks for the information about using applesauce and oil, and even less than called for. It worked fine the way I did it. I cannot understand why people do not want to know about substitutions to recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indiana Peggy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
I am sure the reason it stays so moist is all the oil in it but this is the best recipe of all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
I've just made this cake and it was outstanding, having almost the taste and consistency of pumpkin pie, but so much faster and easier to make. I used 1 2/3 cup sugar, 3/4 cup oil (no added applesauce),two teaspoons vanilla, two teaspoons of baking powder and 1 teaspoon of baking soda, and added 1/2 teaspoon of nutmeg and 1/2 cup golden raisins. Before baking the cake in a 9 x 12 glass baking dish I sprinkled about two tablespoons of brown sugar on top of the batter. Baking time was approximately 35 minutes. After the cake had cooled about 15 minutes, I melted 2 tablespoons unsalted butter in a glass measuring cup in the microwave and added about 4 tablespoons freshly squeezed orange juice, and then enough powdered sugar to make a thin glaze, which I poured over the cake. A lemon juice glaze would probably also work well, using less juice of course. My husband loved this and so do I. I'm quite picky about which recipes go into my permanent file but this one definitely makes the grade with the changes I made, which make the cake healthier and I suspect perhaps even more delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INGRID STOCKTON

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
This cake was so moist. I had too small of eggs so increased time by twenty minutes with foil over it so not to burn the edges. I also used self rising flour so omitted salt and added b.soda only. It rose so nicely and I used my own canned pumpkin too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 641) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States