Pumpkin Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
I made this and loved it. I only used 1 cup of oil but that was the only thing that I did differently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I made this recipe with fresh pumpkin just to use up pumpkins my Mom gave me and was so impressed I've made it twice more! My husband doesn't usually like pumpkin but he loves this recipe. His best friend went crazy for this and asked me about making more repeatedly for a few months so we made him his own cake. He was thrilled. I follow the advice of other reviews and do the following: on the applesauce - start with about 1 1/2 cups then strain all the excess liquid off for about 10 minutes to get about 3/4 c of thicker sauce. Use that with 1/2 c. oil (or vice versa on amts) as an oil substitute. Add 1/2 tsp nutmeg & 1/4 tsp ground fresh ginger. Bundt cake = 40-45 min, Cupcakes = 18-20 min. This recipe is even more awesome with a cream cheese icing that has either orange or lemon zest mixed in! I use Cream Cheese Icing II from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
I loved this recipe, but what i did was dump all the ingredients in a large bowl and mixed, it came out pretty thick so i added some water, i cant say how much because i just poured a little at a time mixing after each addition of water till the mix was like pancake like consistency, loved it, nice and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Humble, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I followed other suggestions and substituted 1/4 applesauce for part of the oil. I also added in a small container of spiced pumpkin whipped cream cream cheese spread I had on hand as a way to use it up. I used 3 teaspoons of Penzys pumpkin pie spice in place of the spices called for, otherwise made as noted. I goofed on the pan size (mine was too large) and ended up marbling this with a boxed yellow cake mix to fill the pan. This was a happy accident and it made a very pretty and unique cake. Cake was moist and flavorful with a good crumb. Moist but not overly heavy or dense. Pumpkin-y and spicy without being overwhelming. I frosted the this with a thin layer of cream cheese frosting mixed with a little Cool Whip vanilla frosting I had on hand. Very very good. Bookmarked this to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
OMG!!!! Every time I make this cake, everyone loves it! They all want the recipe! I don't change a thing! It rates 5 stars with everyone here! I'm using this recipe to teach my granddaughters how to bake from scratch! I figure their love for this cake will be the incentive! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Adrian, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Really easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Really good, gave it only four stars as is because followed the advice of other reviewers and cut oil in half and used two teaspoons of pumpkin pie spice instead of cinnamon. I didn't replace the oil that I cut out with apple sauce as some reviewers did and it was still perfectly moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaAimee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I made this cake today, and it was amazing! I added clover and a little more cinnamon, my family is already asking for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
These cupcakes were delicious, fluffy and moist. I also used 3/4 cup oil with 1/2 cup applesauce. Cooked then in muffin tins for 21 minutes, let them cool on a rack and frosted with whipped cream cheese frosty from all recipe. Made half with walnuts a
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 598) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States