Pumpkin Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I have made this twice. The first time as is, for which I will rate it four stars. The second time, I added 1/2 tsp. nutmeg, 1/4 tsp. ginger, and that made it even better. This is a moist, dense cake, best suited for a bundt pan. Both times I frosted it with ermine frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This recipe is exactly what I wanted. A moist, soft, pumpkin cake. Based on other reviews I added 2 tablespoons vanilla and pumkin pie spice II (1 teaspoon ground cinnamon, 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg, 1/4 teaspoon ground ginger, 1/8 teaspoon ground cloves) and substituted half the flower for whole wheat flower. The flavor was perfect with the added spices. I topped it with Cream Cheese Frosting II ( 2 (8 ounce) packages softened cream cheese, 1/2 cup softened butter, 2 cups sifted confectioners' sugar, 1 teaspoon vanilla extract). I also added 2 teaspoons of nutmeg to the frosting. It came out so well that it will be a new holiday tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I made this using a single 29 oz can of Libby's pumpkin instead of 2 cups. I also split the batter and made 2 cakes using 2 ten inch round pans, about 2 in deep. Other changes include adding 4 tsp cinnamon, 2 tsp pumpkin pie spice, grape seed oil instead of vegetable oil (healthier), raw sugar instead of white and no nuts. I check them at 55 mins with a toothpick. These cakes are incredibly moist and need no icing or additional topping whatsoever and is dairy free. EVERYBODY loves it and its not too spicy or overwhelming pumpkiny (if that's a word) and its really easy to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FNChef
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
A perfect pumpkin cake recipe! I followed this recipe, omitting the nuts and baking into cupcakes. The cupcakes were perfect and beautiful and tasty as they were, but I decorated them with a simple cream cheese frosting. I received a lot of great feedback from coworkers about how moist and yummy they were. I loved the true pumpkin flavor of these, with just a hint of cinnamon flavor coming through - not complicated with extra spices. A full batch easily made over 30 cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Great receipe-Used bundt pan-Just mixed all ingredients and placed in pan. Came out perfect and is light tasting and not real sweet. Just the way I like a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KINGSFORD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodstock, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
One of many similar, but nonetheless good pumpkin cake/muffin/bread recipes from this site. This variation appealed to me in that the spice was limited to just cinnamon, a welcome change from the usual additions of pumpkin pie spice, allspice, ginger, nutmeg and/or cloves. Other than baking these as cupcakes, about 22-23 minutes, I prepared the recipe as directed, using a 15-oz. can of pumpkin rather than measuring out 2 cups. One recipe made 24 cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
i love this recipe really moist and flavorful , with orange cream cheese frosting is perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Yessenia Kissel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Ridge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
GREAT!!!!! very moist!! i followed another review and used 1cup applesauce and 1/2 cup oil. Turned out great! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Richmond, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Delicious! I omitted the nuts, halved the oil (ground up an apple instead), halved the sugar, halved the flour with whole wheat. Baked at 350 for 45 minutes in 8 x 8" pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Super tasty!! This is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States