Pumpkin Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
This recipe is almost identical to one I make myself and is very good and never lasts long in our home. The key to keeping this cake from becoming hard and dry is to be sure to remove it from the oven as soon as its done. The brown sugar in it will burn and harden if left in too long. An excellent homemade icing for this cake is Cream Cheese Icing: 1 pkg. cream cheese (room temp), 1/2 stick unsalted butter (room temp) blended until smooth with a mixer. Add in confectioners sugar until you get your desired sweetness and texture. The easiest and best cream cheese icing I have ever tried. Excellent cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
i made this for my thanksgiving table and it was breathtaking i will sure make it every year and a few times in the fall
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Alright, but disappointed since there where such high reviews from others.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
I was excited to come across this recipe because it is one that I can make for my grandson, who has dairy allergies...and has just discovered that he likes all things "pumpkin" and "sweet potatoes". I made this as written, but added a cup of Ghiradelli bittersweet chips to the batter before baking. This is a very good cake that gets better as it sits. Next time I make this I plan to add a teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice to add more depth. (I would also like to try this with a cream cheese frosting when not making this for my grandson.) Thank you, Jennifer, for sharing this recipe. My grandson ate two huge pieces and took half the cake home with him (he is only six), and he seems to enjoy the fact that he gets something made "special" just for him; I enjoy...and appreciate...the fact that good cooks like yourself share your recipes so that I can make my grandson "special" dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
I was excited to make this after reading the reviews, but I was very disappointed. I followed the recipe exactly and the cake was bland, not very moist and the outside was hard and tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
Followed the recipe exactly and got an amazing cake! Not oily but moist and addictive. Definitely cake texture. It is, however, a LOT of batter and after filling my ring pan I also filled a 9X9 pan. Don't see the need for any icing - it's great as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
This was a wonderfully easy recipe and very yummy. I did change to half brown sugar and half regular sugar and also added nutmeg. Frosted it with a cream cheese frosting and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
Turned out like a dream. After reading some reviews concerning the oily quality of the cake I substituted 1 cup of the oil with apple sauce. Still moist and yummy. I also added a dash of pumpkin pie seasoning. There's no need for frosting and/or ice cream. It's heavenly just like it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
this was nice - I added some chocolate chips and a chocolate frosting. My little son stuffed his face! Will definitely make again (sans the chocolate) for his daycare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by red_river_princess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodaholic
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
VERY tasty and moist cake. I put raisins and walnuts. My dude would have preferred it without the raisins. I thought they were great. I've chopped the raisins in the past for other recipes to take away the little pockets of raisin texture so I'll do that next time for this. I served it with fresh whipped cream and crystallized ginger. I have a feeling that this would make fabulous muffins. This has a very strong pumpkin flavor (which I lurve). If you don't love pumpkin then keep recipe searching.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcrae, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States