Pumpkin Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
I made this cake for my daughter's baby shower. Everyone loved it!! My 3 year old Grandson had 2 pieces! I also cut down on the oil by using half oil half applesauce and cut the sugar a bit too. Instead of icing the cake with the traditional cream cheese, I iced it with whipped cream. Just like pumpkin pie! There wasn't any left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
I was disappointed with this recipe. The cake was definitely moist, but I feel it lacked flavor. I was expecting the cake to taste like pumpkin. It didn't. If I were to make this again, I would use much less oil and add some pumpkin pie spice, cloves, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
A winner. Very moist! I drizzled a maple glaze over it. A great fall dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mount Dora, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
This turned out wonderful. I used a pumpkin shaped muffin pan and the mini pumpkin cakes were adorable as well as delicious. I did not add the nuts however and I used cream cheese frosting instead of powdered sugar. I served these at a party along with a pound cake recipe I found on here and everyone loved both. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
One bite and my dude said "This is a keeper." It came out delicious. It is very moist and full of flavor. I added 1/2 a teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I maded this cake without the nuts and it was still fantastic!!! It actually tasted better a couple days later. Followed the recipe to a t and had a beautiful tall cake-no icing needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
I made this cake for my dad's bithday, and he loved it. Instad of mafing a roll cake I baked in a 9x13 cake pan for 30min. and it was perfect. I topped it off with a Cream Cheese icing. It was a hit with the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
When I halved the recipe it came out very moist. When I made the whole recipe 2 days later for a job function it came out dry. Not happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thiswifebakes
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Simple and easy recipe, impressive results. I only made one alteration during baking: 1 cup oil, 1/c applesauce to replace the original amount of oil. After it cooled I drizzled it with a streusel type topping of melted butter, powdered sugar and cinnamon. I made this for a PTO event and 6 people asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
This was the first pumpkin cake I ever tried to make. It was a big hit at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 41-50 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States