Pumpkin Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Sarah-May
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
excellent cake, I made it into muffins replaced part of the flour with oatbran and added some nutmeg. My children gobbled them right up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah-May

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Christopher Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
I had 1 substitution: used 1 c unsweetened applesauce instead of 1 c of the oil. Also sprinkled in some nutmeg and cloves. This should have been called pumpkin bread instead of cake. It is excellent, will probably use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
This was so easy and delicious! I usually fail miserably at homemade cake, but this came out BEAUTIFUL! And soooo yummy! I did subsitute 1 cup of applesauce for 1 cup of the oil. I drizzled it with cream cheese frosting and sprinkled on chopped pecans rather than baking in the walnuts. So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barefoot_Gypsy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Andalusia, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I only used 3/4 cup oil, and it was plenty. 2 tsps pumpkin pie spice, fresh pumpkin, and pecans instead of walnuts. It didn't taste like pumpkin at all more like moist pecan cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Wow...this cake is moist and delicious! I drizzled it with cream cheese frosting and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manhattan, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
YUM! This is so tasty; not too sweet- perfect with a cup of tea. I made a couple of minor changes: I reduced the oil to 1 cup, used 1/2 brown sugar and 1/2 white, and added 1 t nutmeg and 1 t ginger. It came out of the pan perfectly and tastes great! A keeper, for sure! (my baking time was about 50 min.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Easy, moist, delicious... Fantastic!!! Thanks Jennifer!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madrid, Madrid, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
This was very tasty. I always try to cut out some or all of the oil/butter. I used half butter and half applesauce. I don't know if this is what made the cake really heavy or if it was something else. I followed the rest of this recipe to the letter. I made it yesterday and it is almost gone already so there is no complaints from my family!! Great seasonal taste. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dcfroggy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Pipe Creek, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
Try using 1/2 cup applesauce, 1/2 cup light sour cream, and 1/2 cup oil to replace the 1 1/2 cups oil. A truly moist and tasty cake. (I increased the spices as well - extra cinnamon, and nutmeg.)(And extra nuts, of course.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States