Pumpkin Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
YUM! This is so tasty; not too sweet- perfect with a cup of tea. I made a couple of minor changes: I reduced the oil to 1 cup, used 1/2 brown sugar and 1/2 white, and added 1 t nutmeg and 1 t ginger. It came out of the pan perfectly and tastes great! A keeper, for sure! (my baking time was about 50 min.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Easy, moist, delicious... Fantastic!!! Thanks Jennifer!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madrid, Madrid, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
This was very tasty. I always try to cut out some or all of the oil/butter. I used half butter and half applesauce. I don't know if this is what made the cake really heavy or if it was something else. I followed the rest of this recipe to the letter. I made it yesterday and it is almost gone already so there is no complaints from my family!! Great seasonal taste. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dcfroggy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Pipe Creek, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
Try using 1/2 cup applesauce, 1/2 cup light sour cream, and 1/2 cup oil to replace the 1 1/2 cups oil. A truly moist and tasty cake. (I increased the spices as well - extra cinnamon, and nutmeg.)(And extra nuts, of course.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
I give it 4 stars because I think it needed a bit more than 10X (confectioners') sugar for frosting. I made it in a bundt pan, using pecans instead of walnuts. I drizzled a glaze over the cake made from 10X, maple syrup, maple extract and half and half to thin it. I topped the glaze with more nuts. My family said it was five stars with the added topping. The cake itself is wonderful...moist and not too sweet, and it could not be easier. I'll make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATSINTHEKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trinidad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Very moist. Also good with cream cheese icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssia
Home Town: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
this cake was delicious! i'll definetely make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
While this turned out very pretty we all thought it rather bland tasting. I made this several days ago and had to toss the rest of the cake (over half) since it didn't get eaten, a rarity at this house. I left the nuts out, but that didn't affect the cake enough to alter my rating. Sorry this just didn't work for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
I made this cake for my daughter's baby shower. Everyone loved it!! My 3 year old Grandson had 2 pieces! I also cut down on the oil by using half oil half applesauce and cut the sugar a bit too. Instead of icing the cake with the traditional cream cheese, I iced it with whipped cream. Just like pumpkin pie! There wasn't any left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Displaying results 31-40 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States