Pumpkin Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
I you don't like reviewers who change the recipe, don't read this! I happen to love changes and that is exactly what I am looking for when I read reviews. I forgot the water and sugar! Didn't miss it-probably because I added a bag of white chocolate chips and a bag of cinnamon chips! :) I used applesauce instead of the oil. I doubled the recipe and made 12 muffins, one round and one big sheet of bars. They're SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Pretty easy cake and had good results. I left out the water and reduced the oil to 1/4 cup and added 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce. I added 1/2 tsp nutmeg. I wish I would have reduced the sugar, because this was too sweet for me and I generally like things sweet. I mixed all the ingredients EXCEPT the cake mix until smooth, I added the cake mix last, mixing just until the dry ingredients are incorporated. Over mixing will definitely produce a heavy/dense cake.The addition of a little cloves and ginger would really make this cake shine. Or just use pumpkin pie spice instead. I will make this again, but with less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie Jean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Made this with my daughter with downs,big hit.Great recipe.Even a man can make it,haha.Made my daughter so happy. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jc hammy
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
I made Christmas gifts. No oil added extra spice . High altitude added 1/4 c flour and used 15 oz pumpkin. By Jane H high altitude baker. 7200.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Made the recipe as written, except I used a bundt pan (baked for 52 minutes) and glazed with a thin orange glaze. I did add 2 Tbsp of flour when I noticed my cake mix was 15 oz instead of 18. This cake was good, but I expected more flavor and density. Maybe I should have made a spice cake instead. We'll definitely enjoy this cake anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Awesome cake. I used a spice cake mix and omitted the cinnamon. Baked it in a Bundt pan. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Thanksgiving or Holiday party must, especially topped with buttery, pecan & spicy streusel. I used to make this in when I was in college and I'm so glad to see the recipe again. I used spice cake mix, instead of yellow, but still added the cinnamon, plus 1/2 tsp of vanilla. Very simple and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I used 5 spice mix not just cinnamon,and only used a half cup of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzzenne Lane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Excellent and easy....followed the lead with a full can of pumpkin and 2/3 c sugar....followed by cream cheese glaze, used 1 oz cream cheese 1/2 stick butter 1/4 c heavy cream cooked until melted, then stirred in 1t vanilla and 2 1/2 to 3 c powdered sugar....depending on the thickness you are looking for.....this is a simple and tasty recipe....it's a keeper!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
This is an excellent cake. I made it to give to 2 special people I have not seen in a long time and their families loved it! I read many of the reviews and changed mine too. I only put a 1/2 cup of sugar, and used applesauce instead of the oil. I also used a whole can of Libby's pumpkin. I also used 3 eggs instead of 4 because my box of cake mix asked for 3. I topped it with canned Cream Cheese frosting that I thinned out with milk and sprinkled the top with pecans. Everyone LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States