Pumpkin Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
Not my favorite cake recipe. It doesn't work well with typical subsitutions to lighten it up (applesauce for half the fat, splenda for half the sugar). It is probably as written, but I won't try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carriescows
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
Fabulous!I made this for a frien to take to a "pumpkin festival".I used 2 pyrex bowls levelled them abd inverted one on top of the other I sliced the tops and stuck them to the sides of the ball to make ridges. I frosted everything with Ricks butter cream. When I made a second one for my family I used the "Best Buttercream Frosting" which was a not too sweet perfect compliment for this cake. Both frosting recipes are from this site, and I made sure to read the reviews before makeing them, great tips there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carriescows

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
Really easy recipe. I made this for my mom's coworkers, so I didn't actually have a piece but it smelled heavenly and I heard very nice reviews. Also, I was very glad that the recipe used an entire can; a lot of the recipes on Libby's website didn't and I didn't want left over pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nelliehaw
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
Oh this was soooo good! Very easy to make, I didn't sift and it was still delicious! I baked it in 2 8" square pans for about 50 mins. This recipe was great even without the frosting (I used a cream cheese frosting).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nelliehaw

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
I am ratign this pumkin cake with 5 stars because my husband and co workers love it. I do not like pumpkin cake so of course, it wasn't good for me. :) It is very easy to make and pretty reasonable price wise to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
This is a really good cake--very moist, and it actually gets better later in the week. I used a cup of brown sugar and a cup of white sugar. Also, I didn't use the allspice (I was out), but I will next time. It was heavy on pumpkin taste and low on spice without it. I'm going to try swapping the oil for apple sauce and see how that works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kpaigel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
Oh my GOODNESS!! I wish I could rate this recipe more than 5 stars! It was DELICIOUS!!! Everyone LOVED it! Thank you!! I made it into a "pumpkin" using 2 bundt cakes. I frosted it w/a cool whip/van pudding frosting. YUMMMY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
I made no changes to this as I saw no need to. Looking at the recipe, the combination of ingredients, especially the spices, seemed just right-and they were. No applesauce, no reduction of oil for me-if you're gonna eat cake, eat cake! It isn't supposed to be healthy, just a nice treat! Neither did I add raisins or nuts, even though both would be good. Just wanted a pure and simple pumpkin cake. This one delights - tender, soft crumb, not too sweet, and a pleasant blend of spices, none of them overpowering. I baked them in mini pumpkin pans, then decorated them with tinted orange and green Butter Cream Frosting II from this site. The end result was autumn bliss- smooth, silky little pumpkin cakes that are melt-in-your mouth good. Hubby and his staff gobbled up all 23! (out of 24... I had to taste-test one of them, right?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
This has become my favorite pumpkin recipe. I made it last fall and now can't wait till i have a reason to make it again. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patty from Las Vegas
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
I made this for my nephews 1st birthday. He is a Halloween baby. Used 2 cups fresh pumpkin and everybody raved about this cake. I made in a bundt pan and used the real pumpkin stem in the middle. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty from Las Vegas

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States