Pumpkin Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This cake was moist, tasty, and a huge hit at work! I had tons of requests for this recipe. I bumped up the spices a bit but otherwise followed the recipe exactly, and baked it in a bundt pan. I'll be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nenmonster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Photo by LANAIAH
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
This cake was so easy to make and it turned out fabulous! Very moist with a smooth pumpkin pie/spice cake flavor. The cake is not lite & fluffy...it's a little heavy but very good. I drizzled cream cheese glaze over the warm cake and it enhanced the flavors even more. Tasted a lot like a pumpkin roll without all the fuss. Definitely a keeper! I think I will add fresh cranberries to the batter & sprinkle the baked top of cake with chopped pecans when I make this for Christmas just to make it a little more special. [basic cream cheese glaze- 4-oz. cream cheese-softened, 2 cups powdered sugar, 1 tablespoon butter-softened, 1 tsp vanilla extract, mix till there are no lumps and add enough milk to make it a glaze constancy about 2 Tblsp.]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LANAIAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westlake, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wellington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
YUM! Made this into cupcakes for my daughter's 1st birthday party. I added chocolate chips to the "adult" cupcakes. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Very good recipe. I did not add any nuts, but did add a 1/2 teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice to bring out the pumpkin flavor. I also made whipped cream cheese frosting to frost the cake (8 oz. cream cheese, 1 cup powdered sugar, 1/8 tsp salt, 1 tsp vanilla, 1 1/2 cups heavy whipping cream - directions: whip cream first, then in a separate bowl combine all other ingredients, beat until smooth, and then fold in the whipped cream).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Made this cake for my husband to take to work and everyone loved it! His mgr insisted that I make it again for their Christmas party. I found cake very easy to put together and bake. No problems at all and I followed the recipe to the "T".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This cake is FANTASTIC!! I will be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Wow!! I made this cake for my husband's birthday (he LOVES anything pumpkin) and it was outstanding!!! He was completely impressed and it made for a delicious ending to a special birthday celebration! I made it in a 9X13 and then iced it with Cream Cheese Frosting...it's rich, sweet and SINFULLY GOOD! Let yourself splurge on this one - you won't be sad that you did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karis T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Photo by AUtiger86
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
This was really yummy! The only change I made was to use half oil, half applesauce, and it was still very moist! I also reduced the temp to 325 halfway through because I was using a heavy dark bundt pan. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caitlin
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
Oh. My. God. So dense. So moist. So deliciously pumpkiny. I followed the recipe pretty much exactly except that I only used cinnamon as I didn't have the other spices on hand. I made three 9x1 inch layers. So so so so so good. This is a permanent staple. You MUST try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
This was amazing! I did use some applesauce to cut down on fat, but this doesn't cut down on flavor at all! Also, I didn't have cloves so I used more cinnamon, nutmeg and allspice. In reference to another review, allspice is not a combination of the other spices. the other spices can stand in for allspice as a substitute but Allspice is the dried, unripened fruit of a small evergreen tree, the Pimenta Dioica. The fruit is a pea-sized berry which is sundried to a reddish-brown color. Pimento is called Allspice because its flavor suggests a blend of cloves, cinnamon and nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Franklin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States