Pumpkin Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
All the way to 5 stars for this! Except I made it in a big bundt pan. And...and...after making it with the pumpkin, I used apple sauce...it was fantastic! Then I used cooked mashed plums....excellent! And when I ran out of vanilla, I used almond extract....a winner! Down side? ....I've been requested to make another one for the community fund raiser! Word gets around....but I don't mind...I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rindge, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Mahone Bay, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
GREAT! This time of year I am on the hunt for good pumpkin recipes. This one intreeged me because it called for 1/2 a can which is more than most call for, and had a lot of spices which also was great. I added a few white chocolate chips as well as dried cheeries. They were a hit. One trick, don't overbake them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Yum! What a wonderful dessert for Fall! I added chocolate chips, which are a nice complement. I really like the presentation of the bundt pan for this cake. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This was fantastic! I did use 1/2 c unsweetened applesauce and decreased oil by 1/2 cup. I added a cup of chocolate chips and topped it with cream cheese frosting. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine Farrer Stelma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IronChefHarvey
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Great tasting, moist cake. The spices really come through. I would recommend cream cheese frosting as a fantastic compliment. The best part though is the presentation. Make 2 bundt cakes, flip one over on top of the other and frost to look like a full 3D pumpkin. It will feed a crowd and they will love it. I made one for an office Halloween party and it is now legendary - The Great Pumpkin cake! I am making it again this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IronChefHarvey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
So good. I reduced the sugar as well and used applesauce for 1/4c of the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Fantastic fall cake. I replaced the oil completely with applesauce and used a little (maybe 1/4 cup) less sugar than called for. Probably would have been good with just 2 cups of sugar. I also replaced the flour with sorghum flour (gluten free) which worked just fine. The blend of spices was delicious, especially as I am a big fan of fall spices. I whipped up a little cream cheese glaze to drizzle over it which turned out okay. It didn't add much of a cream cheese taste, just sugary, but it looked nice. Roommates liked this cake a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lumberjole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Yummy yummy all I changed was I added chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Really really good. I replaced half of the oil with applesauce and doubled up on the spices. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Very moist. Delicious. (And I don't like pumpkin!) I only made a few substitutions: used a cup of applesauce instead of the oil, the equivalency of egg substitute for the eggs, and 2 tsp allspice instead of 1 allspice and 1 cloves (I didn't have any cloves). I would love to try it with chopped nuts next time. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States