Pumpkin Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I LOVE this recipe! It is the perfect balance of sweet/spicy and makes a great background for whatever you want to pair it with. I also used applesauce, but used Splenda, rather than brown sugar. The one addition I made was 1/4 tsp of cayenne. It was not hot, but just warmed it up a little. I baked this in a jelly roll pan and made a torte of it, using a sweetened cream cheese between the layers, alternating orange zest and chopped dried cranberries. It is AMAZING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUVAPEI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Dorado, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Amazing, and I followed the 1/2 cup oil, 1/2 cup applesauce. The cake was so full of flavor and moist. The *First cake I made didn't rise and I noticed this about halfway through the baking - it was then that I realized I never added the baking soda! I let it finish cooking and although it came out half the size, the flavor was fabulous. I'm going to use it in my 'pumpkin muffin stuffin'. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
This is so yummy! I made it in mini bunts and cupcakes and I only took 20 mins for the mini bundt. I was also out of cloves and nutmeg, so I doubled the other spices and it was still delish! It was a huge hit in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Allspice is not actually comprised of separate spices. It is a plant entirely in itself and does add a difference to recipes. But, it can be substitued with a collection of the spices cited.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
this cake was yummy but imine stuck to the bunt pan. I will use a regular cake pan next time. I also used fresh pumpkin instead of canned its better and better for you. as a rule you should always use fresh instead of canned!The taste was great! Kim
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RMart
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Incredibly tasty, very moist and aromatic. I tested this cake to see if it was a viable option for Thanksgiving and now am certain that the extended family will be very impressed! I didn't add icing or decoration this time around, but the cake stands well on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Wonderfullymoist flavorful cake. I used 1/2 c oil and 1/2 c unsweetended applesauce. In addition to the nuts, I added 1/2 c dried cranberries. Everyone in the house gave it 5 stars. Sending some to my daughter at college.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sterling, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Passion4food
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I'm giving this 5 stars, mainly because of all of the great compliments that I received! I reduced the cloves by a little bit & they were still way too strong in the mix. I didn't have allspice, I don't know if that would've made a difference........and I was sort of annoyed that the cake didn't taste a whole lot like Pumpkin to me. In saying that, I got rave reviews about it, even an applause at the Bday party I brought it to! It kind of reminded me of Carrot cake in a way, especially the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passion4food

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
This was really good! I had no problem getting it out of the bundt pan. The only change I made was to the pan. I greased the bundt pan with butter then instead of flour, used granulated sugar. The sugar gave the outside crust a crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ashville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
made this one a couple of times already and everybody loves it!!!! I put a cream cheese frosting piped on top, and it's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States