Pumpkin Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
I made this the other day. I thought it might come out more like a muffin than a cake, and it did. It's a dense cake, but moist. I omitted the cloves because I don't like them. I also used chocolate chips instead of walnuts like the other user did. It's good, and everyone liked it, but I think it needs something else. Can't put my finger on it...maybe brown sugar? rum? Well, I'll probably just use this recipe for muffins...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
Great cake, easy to make. I have actually made it 13 times....that how easy it is to put together. I omitted the nuts (food allergies). I gave them as fall presents and everyone loved them. I didn't have all spice and replace it with pumpking pie spice, turn out great. I put less than a tsp of cloves because it was such a strong taste that after 13 times I adjusted it a little bit. But all around a great and so easy cake. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
I liked this cake very much....it is extremely moist, which I like, but others in my family thought it was a little 'too moist', almost doughy. I cooked it 10 min. more, but I think that's just the way the texture is supposed to be. Other than that little issue it's a wonderful cake perfect for fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Hackensack, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
This cake is yummy, though too sweet for me. But the texture is wonderful and the spices are just right. I made it with chocolate chips instead of walnuts and it was really really good! Next time though i will cut down the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
This was the best pumpkin cake I have ever made, and my family loved it. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alliance, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lucerne Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
I was looking for a pumpkin cake recipe calling for a whole 15 oz can of pumpkin, so as to not adjust a recipe or waste any pumpkin. This was very good. I cut down on the sugar a bit (but should have left it the same) and I substituted 1/2 cup applesauce for part of the oil (good substitution). Also, I didn't have allspice so omitted it without adding more of the other spices....I should have though because it didn't have quite enough spice for me. I made cupcakes and they were a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
This recipe was really good. As others did, I used half apple sauce and half oil. But if I were to make it again I would cut down on the spices, there were too much and it took away from the pumpkin flavour, would also consider adding some crushed pineapple. I used freshly cooked cinderella pumpkin. Wish I knew how to make the texture not quite so dense? - anyone with ideas? I made a double batch and took one to work, with a cream cheese icing, it was a big hit! VERY EASY and quick to make. I will keep this and make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
WOW! I took this cake to a Halloween party last night and people I didn't even know were actually asking the hostess who had made it, and then seeking me out to tell me how delicious it was. The best part was that it was SO EASY TO MAKE!!!! p.s. I left out the walnuts due to a niece's food allergy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
This is a fantastic cake. I also use this recipe to make mini pumpkin muffins. Also great with cream cheese frosting. I have also made this recipe using applesauce to replace half the oil and found that it tastes just as delicious as the original recipe. Pecans also work well if you don't have walnuts on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
This cake is FANTASTIC!!! I love pumpkin, and this cake was a dream come true. It was a real hit with my family, and co-workers. It's the first time I've ever made homemade cake, and I was surprised at how moist and flavorful it was. Thank you for this recipe, it will become tradition in my house form now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States