Pumpkin Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
Delicious! I did however make some changes. I wanted to make it a little bit more healthier so I used 1/2 butter and 1/2 applesauce. Also added more spices than recipe called for. I used 1/2 white flour and 1/2 whole wheat flour. Also cut down the sugar to less than 2 cups and used 1/2 white and 1/2 brown sugar. Finally I topped it w/ cream cheese frosting. So good! moist, flavorful and delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
227 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2001
Easy to prepare, moist, and tasty. Not too spicy either. You can cut the cooking time in half if you use a 13x9 rectangular baking dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
The blend of spices really gives this cake nice flavor! I normally prefer to make cakes with butter and/or margarine versus oil, so next time I will try that. Oil does make the cake moist, but butter gives much more depth of flavor. I baked the cake in a tube pan and frosted the top portion of the cake with an orange cream cheese frosting. The frosting: 6 oz. cream cheese, 3 T butter, 1 1/2 T freshly squeezed orange juice, 1 T grated orange rind, 1 t. vanilla extract, and enough powdered sugar to make the desired frosting consistency (approx. 2 cups). The cake and the frosting make a great combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hackettstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
I made no changes to this as I saw no need to. Looking at the recipe, the combination of ingredients, especially the spices, seemed just right-and they were. No applesauce, no reduction of oil for me-if you're gonna eat cake, eat cake! It isn't supposed to be healthy, just a nice treat! Neither did I add raisins or nuts, even though both would be good. Just wanted a pure and simple pumpkin cake. This one delights - tender, soft crumb, not too sweet, and a pleasant blend of spices, none of them overpowering. I baked them in mini pumpkin pans, then decorated them with tinted orange and green Butter Cream Frosting II from this site. The end result was autumn bliss- smooth, silky little pumpkin cakes that are melt-in-your mouth good. Hubby and his staff gobbled up all 23! (out of 24... I had to taste-test one of them, right?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
This cake was very good! I made it for a dessert contest at work around Halloween - I baked 12 little mini bundt cakes and used 2 cakes together to make mini-pumpkins. I used frosting to keep the 2 cakes together and then placed them in a baking dish of crumbled oreos and chocolate pudding (you wouldn't think chococate and pumpkin cake would go together, but they do!) I brushed the pumpkins with glaze(using powdered sugar, milk and a little red and yellow food coloring), let them dry, and then glazed them again and used green frosting to create stems and vines. viola! pumpkin patch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
One word: DELICIOUS!!! I was a bit confused as to why the recipe called for "Allspice" AS WELL AS cloves, ginger, and cinnamon which are all components of "Allspice." (I went into Allrecipes' substitutions chart and found that "Allspice" was comprised of ginger, cloves, and cinnamon.) But hey - it worked! Thank you D. Adams! This was a hit with my 7-year-old as well as with my whole office!!! It was very moist and no frosting was needed, just a light dusting of powdered sugar - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
This cake was wonderful. I used 1/2 c. applesauce and 1/2 c. oil as others had suggested. The cake was very moist and the pumpkin flavor was good (not too strong or overpowering). I took it to a family gathering and got rave reviews. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2003
This was a great cake it was moist and very easy to make. I made some alterations such as the oil instead of a cup I only did 1/2 and the rest was applesauce I also used fresh pumpkin instead of the canned varity, the fresh was awesome tasting I encourage you to try it. I added golden raisins instead of nuts I'll try both sometime. Thanks for this wonderful receipe D Adams I will enjoy passing this along to friends and family as gift's this holiday season
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELDOE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caldwell, Idaho, USA
Living In: Vernonia, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2002
Absolutely awesome! Made this for church coffee hour and 2 people asked for recipe. It tastes terrific with real whipped cream. I used a bundt pan, and because it was a dark teflon one I decreased the temperated about 10 degrees. It came out perfect made exactly as the recipe states. Would probably freeze well, too. If you need an excellent Fall desert that is simple, delicious and tasty, you have to try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Lake In The Hills, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2002
Fantastic! I get requests & compliments on this constantly! I DID make a change & a substitution. I use less sugar - 1 3/4 cups. I was out of pumpkin one day & used squash instead - a big hit! If you have access to Pampered Chef's Cinnamon Plus - use 4 tsp of that instead of the separate spices. This recipe is a family FAVORITE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States