Pumpkin Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Caitlin
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
Oh. My. God. So dense. So moist. So deliciously pumpkiny. I followed the recipe pretty much exactly except that I only used cinnamon as I didn't have the other spices on hand. I made three 9x1 inch layers. So so so so so good. This is a permanent staple. You MUST try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
This was amazing! I did use some applesauce to cut down on fat, but this doesn't cut down on flavor at all! Also, I didn't have cloves so I used more cinnamon, nutmeg and allspice. In reference to another review, allspice is not a combination of the other spices. the other spices can stand in for allspice as a substitute but Allspice is the dried, unripened fruit of a small evergreen tree, the Pimenta Dioica. The fruit is a pea-sized berry which is sundried to a reddish-brown color. Pimento is called Allspice because its flavor suggests a blend of cloves, cinnamon and nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Franklin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
Good. More like pumpkin bread. I used half oil/ half applesauce to cut the fat down. Very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
This cake was phenomenal, and perfect for using up leftover pumpkin puree! I made the following changes: Cut oil in half and subbed in additional 1/2 cup pumpkin puree (for a total of 2 1/2 cups...slightly more than called for); Cut down sugar to 1 cup white, 2/3 cup brown; Added 1/4 tsp baking powder and 1/4 tsp ground ginger; Omitted cloves, allspice, and walnuts. This recipe was easy and fun to make (I didn't even need to break out the hand mixer...just used two forks). I agree with other reviews that it is somewhat like a pumpkin bread in texture...but a delicious, moist bread at that! I did not find this cake to be too dense or sweet. It is lighter than bread, with subtle, delicious flavor, and best served plain; I think any frosting would be too overpowering. I baked this in a flexible silicon bundt pan, lightly spritzed with nonstick cooking spray, for about 1 hr 15 min. I HIGHLY recommend the silicon pan because its flexibility prevents the cake from flaking off or sticking to the sides when removing. I believe that this recipe is impossible to mess up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
I made this recipe using 2 - 9" Round Cake Pans and frosted with (Whipped Cream Cheese Frosting) from this web site. What a great recipe, our grand children loved it, even the picky 4 year old. Our thanks goes out to D. Adams. Iota
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Sobieski, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Doubled recipe and used 2 cups wheat flour, 1/3 cup each oat bran, wheat bran, and wheat germ. Last 2 cups of flour was the regular white stuff. I also used canola oil. Turned out Great! I added 1 cup rasins and wish I had omitted the nuts as I'm not a big fan of them in cake. Baked in two 9x13 pans for 35min. Topped with cream cheese frosting. Very moist and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
This is the first time I wanted to write a review . . . probably because it is the best recipe I have come across in years! I followed this recipe exactly and wouldn't change a thing. I did bake it in a 9x13 for 40 minutes and then frosted with cream cheese frosting. Wonderful - will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Cake very moist-my husband said that it tasted like pumpkin bread. I left out the oil and substituted 1 C of melted butter and it turned out just fine. I also left out any glaze-seemed good enough on its own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JANELIM
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
Simply love it, soft and moist as suggested! I cut down the sugar to 2 cups and omitted the allspice and walnuts, turned out just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANELIM

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
I liked this cake, but I thought that the spices were off. Too much clove - it was overpowering. Next time I would eliminate the allspice, cut the clove in half, put in more cinnamon and a bit of ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States