Pumpkin Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
Fabulous. Got so so many compliments. Definitely a keeper. So moist. Just pefect. Left the recipe just as it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
I made this following a few suggestions from other reviews: 1/2 c. oil & 1/2 c. applesauce; split the sugar to 1/2 brown and 1/2 white, and added 1 tsp. baking powder. It's very good and moist, better the next day than fresh out of the oven. First time I made it was with orange cream cheese frosting and the second time just a powdered sugar glaze. It's a matter of preference if you like the orange flavor. I think I will cut back slightly on the cloves; I think they overpower the pumpkin flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
I've made this twice and everyone loved it both times. I used half the oil, as someone else recommended, and it was still plenty moist. The other change I made was, I used 4 teaspoons of pumpkin pie spice instead of the four separate spices. I frosted it (with cream cheese frosting the first time) and the second time I added about a cup of mini chocolate chips and just dusted it with confectioner's sugar. The cake is so yummy, it doesn't need frosting. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
This cake was very moist and tasty! My husband loved it, and he's not very big on pumpkin. I didn't have applesauce to use instead of the oil, but I will try that suggestion next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
This recipe is so excellent,I made this cake a few times already and even one for a good friend and she loved it, its so moist! With her cake i didn't add the nuts as she doesn't likethem and she still raved about it,I add the nuts to mine and sometimes I just dust the cake with powdered sugar. My sons also love it when I add mini chocolate chips to it too,no matter what this is just super excellent and I will be making it many times over!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coolidge, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
Yummy, made it last night, brought it into work today. All my co-workers loved it. I followed recipes to the tee, w/ the exception of I left out the cloves. (which I didn't have on hand) I don't think it made any difference. Very moist and festive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
I just made this beauty yesterday and it's delicious! Very easy to make and extremely moist finish. I was concerned the cloves would be too much, but it's not overly spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flemington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
I made this cake in 25 muffins and they were de-vine. They were perfect after 20 minutes and got a nice chewy crust on top. The inside is moist and had a great texture and crumb. These are so flavorful they really don't even need frosting, but I put some cream cheese frosting on them anyways and they were awesome. I will use this reicpe a lot this fall for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
It had a good flavor, but after only a couple hours it started to taste really dry. It wasn't good enough that I'd want to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy D.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
This is better than Starbucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States