Pumpkin Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
I made this recipe a couple of years ago for my son's birthday cake made it into a pumpkin kind of like the picture and my family loved it. I have been asked to make it again several times in the past, and again this year. Love this recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I made this last night and it was delicious - rave reviews from my young kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
It was good I cut the sugar also, but I forgot the tip that it gets mushy if sealed. otherwise good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D.j. Haas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
It's spring cleaning time, and today the pantry was on my list. I found a can of pumpkin a week from expiring. Even though spring in Florida means temps in the 80's, when I saw that can of pumpkin, I just started craving something that tasted of autumn and reminded me of cooler temps. I made this recipe pretty much as-is, I just substituted pumpkin pie spice for all the spices listed, as that is what I always have on hand. This cake is so moist and flavorful! The pumpkin flavor really comes through. I glazed it with a maple syrup/powdered sugar mixture, maple and pumpkin are just so good together! I only have one small criticism, the cake itself, without the glaze, is a little on the too sweet side. It won't stop us from eating it though, it's really that good and nearly close to perfect! Next time though, I will cut back on the sugar a bit(1/2 cup maybe?) especially if I frost/glaze it. Thanks so much for the recipe and a taste of autumn! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This is my go-to pumpkin cake recipe - it's moist and perfect. It does great for cupcakes also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
5 stars with my slight modifications. 3-4 stars as is. First, too much oil. I reduced to 2/3c and added an extra 1/4c of pumpkin. Also, I reduced the sugar slightly to 2 1/4c. Lastly, I did not have cloves so we went on without. This cake was fabulous! Moist, dense, perfect pumpkin/spice flavor. I topped with a cinnamon cheesecake frosting from another recipe on this site. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RebeccaD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Millerton, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
I also made mine out of two bundt cakes and stacked them to look like a pumpkin. Due to the hole in the middle of the bundt cake I threw some pumpkin spice m&ms in the middle hole to be the same height of the cake. Then I took some of the cake I had cut off to make it even for stacking, put it on top of the candy, and had a stem. I used cream cheese frosting dyed orange for the pumpkin and green for the stem. It was awesome and so easy! The cake also tasted really good. I typically am not a huge pumpkin fan (except in my coffee drinks) but thought this was great. It was extremely moist. If I make it again I'll leave it as just a bundt cake with a glaze as you really don't need the frosting. I also didn't have all the spices on hand so I substituted an undetermined amount of pumpkin pie spice instead and added a pinch of extra cinnamon. I'm confident though the cake would have turned out better had I been able to follow the recommended amounts. Refreshing to find a good recipe that doesn't need alterations to be 5 stars on All recipes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
My daughter made this as a bundt cake for Thanksgiving and she did a great job! This cake was moist and very flavorful. She did omit the cloves and nuts. She also added a Simple Orange Glaze from this site which really gave this pumpkin cake another element. Very good! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
AMAZING! My family and friends loved this recipe! It turned out very moist and flavorful. I doubled the recipe to make a 14 inch cake and it did the job! I would highly recommend this to anyone who loves pumpking flavored cake! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I have made this recipe three times already for my family and plan to make it again for Thanksgiving. We love it! I did 1/2 c. of cinnamon applesauce and 1/2 c. of oil instead of 1 c. of oil. I also used 1/2 tsp. nutmeg instead of 1 tsp. because I had some really strong nutmeg from my food coop. I also left out the nuts because of my daughter's nut allergy. If you like spice cake and pumpkin pie, this bundt cake is the perfect choice for you! We like it served with a little whipped cream on top ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States