Pumpkin Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
I will keep this recipie around for years! I now have another reason to look forward to fall. I topped half with chocolate creme chess icing (find recipe on this site) and left half plain, and the entire side with icing was gone before anyone even touched the plan side. Will ice every time now. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
Friends and Family love this recipe! I add about a cup of crushed walnuts to the batter and use the Libby Pumpkin Roll filling recipe as my icing topped with crushed walnuts as well! Wonderful fall/winter holiday treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
These were fantastic! The only changes I made was to substitute half brown sugar and half whole wheat flour. And a little extra cinnamon. Very heavy and flavorful. We made mini pumpkin-shaped cakes and decorated them like jack-o-lanterns!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
I omitted the allspice (didn't have any) and used fewer cloves and it was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
This is the recipe you want for dense, moist, spice cake. I used it to make two small bundt cakes, placed the flat ends together to make a pumpkin, and iced it with an orange buttercream frosting. The cake took the stacking and heavy frosting without collapsing or shedding a bunch of crumbs. The pumpkin was real cute, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
This is a great cake, moist, not too sweet, spicy and healthy. I used have whole wheat flour and 1 cup of Splenda instead of all white sugar. I also added a couple of tablespoons of molasses, fresh ground ginger, and 3 tablespoons of ground flax seeds, I used almonds instead of walnuts. My cake turned out great. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Curdmor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
Very good and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
Really good cakeness. Reducing the white sugar to 1 cup and adding 2/3 cup brown sugar was a great suggestion. Whole wheat party flour worked great and I left out the walnuts. I forgot the salt, so I just added some to the glaze, which turned out really well. So moist and delicious,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jordan Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cody, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
This was a good hefty cake. I added more spice and it wasn't ruined. I also added some miniature chocolate chips. Turned out good. Will definitely make again as you could play with alot of combinations on this one, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakergrrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
mushy consistency. needs more flavor-- more spices? after freezing and thawing, and adding a mollasses glaze, gets rave reviews. people think itt astes like pumpkin pie. my changes: * replaced oil with apple sauce * replaced 1 c. of flour with whole wheat flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States