Pumpkin Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by SweetToothTiff
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
This was a good recipe. I didn't add the nuts. The cake was very moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetToothTiff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winsted, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Uhrichsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Wow! Great cake, or bread if you want to bake it in loaf pans. I don't like to change recipes that are submitted too often, but I did change a couple of things. I don't like cloves or nutmeg, so I add two teaspoons cinnamon and 1 teaspoon allspice for the spices. Did I mention I like cinnamon? I only had canola oil and I think it comes out moister with it. Great recipe, thanks for sharing!I've made it twice in one week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This cake was moist, tasty, and a huge hit at work! I had tons of requests for this recipe. I bumped up the spices a bit but otherwise followed the recipe exactly, and baked it in a bundt pan. I'll be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nenmonster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Photo by LANAIAH
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
This cake was so easy to make and it turned out fabulous! Very moist with a smooth pumpkin pie/spice cake flavor. The cake is not lite & fluffy...it's a little heavy but very good. I drizzled cream cheese glaze over the warm cake and it enhanced the flavors even more. Tasted a lot like a pumpkin roll without all the fuss. Definitely a keeper! I think I will add fresh cranberries to the batter & sprinkle the baked top of cake with chopped pecans when I make this for Christmas just to make it a little more special. [basic cream cheese glaze- 4-oz. cream cheese-softened, 2 cups powdered sugar, 1 tablespoon butter-softened, 1 tsp vanilla extract, mix till there are no lumps and add enough milk to make it a glaze constancy about 2 Tblsp.]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LANAIAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westlake, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wellington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
YUM! Made this into cupcakes for my daughter's 1st birthday party. I added chocolate chips to the "adult" cupcakes. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Very good recipe. I did not add any nuts, but did add a 1/2 teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice to bring out the pumpkin flavor. I also made whipped cream cheese frosting to frost the cake (8 oz. cream cheese, 1 cup powdered sugar, 1/8 tsp salt, 1 tsp vanilla, 1 1/2 cups heavy whipping cream - directions: whip cream first, then in a separate bowl combine all other ingredients, beat until smooth, and then fold in the whipped cream).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Made this cake for my husband to take to work and everyone loved it! His mgr insisted that I make it again for their Christmas party. I found cake very easy to put together and bake. No problems at all and I followed the recipe to the "T".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This cake is FANTASTIC!! I will be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Wow!! I made this cake for my husband's birthday (he LOVES anything pumpkin) and it was outstanding!!! He was completely impressed and it made for a delicious ending to a special birthday celebration! I made it in a 9X13 and then iced it with Cream Cheese Frosting...it's rich, sweet and SINFULLY GOOD! Let yourself splurge on this one - you won't be sad that you did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karis T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Photo by AUtiger86
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
This was really yummy! The only change I made was to use half oil, half applesauce, and it was still very moist! I also reduced the temp to 325 halfway through because I was using a heavy dark bundt pan. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States