Pumpkin Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Followed the recipe exact. Greased the pan extremely well. Cooked cake exactly 1 hr until toothpick came out clean. Waited exactly 5 minutes and turned out on plate per instructions. And ended up with a big mess as the cake stuck in the pan terribly. Tastes OK, but is a shredded mess. Gonna have to figure out how to serve as trifle instead... ugh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
This is a wonderful recipe! I read through a lot of the reviews with all the changes people have made, but decided to give it a try with just the ingredients listed, and it turned out delicious! I was a little concerned mine would be a little "gooey" since I used fresh pureed pumpkin rather than canned, but it is just very moist, and not doughy at all. I baked it in a 9x13 cake pan for about 45 minutes, versus the bunt pan. Great cake! Will definitely make this again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
tender moist cake.it seems more suited for a loaf bread though.i will definately use it again as a bread by using less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
This cake recipe is perfect as submitted, and requires no changes at all! To the lady who wondered why Allspice was included. Allspice is not a mixture of spices as she mistakenly believes but is, instead, a spice of its own -- often used in Jamaican cooking. I always add a generous dash of it to pumpkin pie, in spite of all of the other spices. Its addition provides an extra bit of verve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Made this cake for a co-worker's birthday who likes anything pumpkin. It turned out beautifully and had a lovely pumpkin spice flavor. I made the cream cheese frosting from this site & made it orange and drizzled the frosting on the top. Also frosted an ice cream cone in green frosting and placed it upside down in the center of the bundt cake. It was a beautiful pumpkin flavored pumpkin cake & my co-worked loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunflowergirl13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
I made this cake for my friend's birthday when his request was "something pumpkin" as he has a fall birthday. This cake is AMAZING. I made it as written, the only change was instead of 4 tsp of each spice, I used 4 tsp. of pumpkin spice (which includes all four spices)and it worked beautifully. I made the cake in two 9" pans so that cut the baking time down to 30 min. I made a honey spice buttercream frosting and that was literally the "icing on the cake!" I bake often and this is by far my favorite recipe. I've already been asked to make this for Thanksgiving and had several requests for the recipe. Definitely a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
All the way to 5 stars for this! Except I made it in a big bundt pan. And...and...after making it with the pumpkin, I used apple sauce...it was fantastic! Then I used cooked mashed plums....excellent! And when I ran out of vanilla, I used almond extract....a winner! Down side? ....I've been requested to make another one for the community fund raiser! Word gets around....but I don't mind...I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rindge, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Mahone Bay, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
GREAT! This time of year I am on the hunt for good pumpkin recipes. This one intreeged me because it called for 1/2 a can which is more than most call for, and had a lot of spices which also was great. I added a few white chocolate chips as well as dried cheeries. They were a hit. One trick, don't overbake them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Yum! What a wonderful dessert for Fall! I added chocolate chips, which are a nice complement. I really like the presentation of the bundt pan for this cake. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This was fantastic! I did use 1/2 c unsweetened applesauce and decreased oil by 1/2 cup. I added a cup of chocolate chips and topped it with cream cheese frosting. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CathyCF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States