Pumpkin Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
This is so yummy! I made it in mini bunts and cupcakes and I only took 20 mins for the mini bundt. I was also out of cloves and nutmeg, so I doubled the other spices and it was still delish! It was a huge hit in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Allspice is not actually comprised of separate spices. It is a plant entirely in itself and does add a difference to recipes. But, it can be substitued with a collection of the spices cited.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
this cake was yummy but imine stuck to the bunt pan. I will use a regular cake pan next time. I also used fresh pumpkin instead of canned its better and better for you. as a rule you should always use fresh instead of canned!The taste was great! Kim
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RMart
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Incredibly tasty, very moist and aromatic. I tested this cake to see if it was a viable option for Thanksgiving and now am certain that the extended family will be very impressed! I didn't add icing or decoration this time around, but the cake stands well on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Wonderfullymoist flavorful cake. I used 1/2 c oil and 1/2 c unsweetended applesauce. In addition to the nuts, I added 1/2 c dried cranberries. Everyone in the house gave it 5 stars. Sending some to my daughter at college.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sterling, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Passion4food
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I'm giving this 5 stars, mainly because of all of the great compliments that I received! I reduced the cloves by a little bit & they were still way too strong in the mix. I didn't have allspice, I don't know if that would've made a difference........and I was sort of annoyed that the cake didn't taste a whole lot like Pumpkin to me. In saying that, I got rave reviews about it, even an applause at the Bday party I brought it to! It kind of reminded me of Carrot cake in a way, especially the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passion4food

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
This was really good! I had no problem getting it out of the bundt pan. The only change I made was to the pan. I greased the bundt pan with butter then instead of flour, used granulated sugar. The sugar gave the outside crust a crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ashville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
made this one a couple of times already and everybody loves it!!!! I put a cream cheese frosting piped on top, and it's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
My absolute favorite cake!! I've made it so many times, more than I can count. It's a hit everywhere I bring it! So moist and delicious! You won't be disappointed. Your house will smell so yummy for days after baking one. Thank you D. Adams for this excellent recipe you've shared with us. My taste buds thank you as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheffy Jeffy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Great recipe; I made it about three times and each time it was delicious! I did not make any changes, except I used fresh pumpkin instead of canned (only because I had them) and I don't think that made too much of a difference. Also, the second time I made it I added raisins, and that was good too. I think the recipes is fairly healthy so I did not think it was necessary to eliminate sugar or oil. The whole wheat flour idea sounds good, but my family probably would not go for that. It had the perfect amount of spices; I find with pumpkin, carrot and zuchinni cake recipes it is often hard to find one with enough spices and many are bland; it is the spices that really make it. Often I find myself adding spices just to make it taste good and sometimes others cannot handle the amount I put. However, I did not need to add any spices and we all liked it! I added powdered sugar like the recipes said and that really added the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States