Pumpkin Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
My 8yr old gave it "2 billion thumbs up". I did make a couple small changes. I used 2.5 cups Butternut squash that had been BBQ'd. I also cut back the nutmeg to 2/3 tsp since I was using freshly grated. No nuts either. This is a wonderfully moist and flavourful cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
i had to rate this cake. i really messed it up and it still came out moist and delish! first of all, i only had about 2/3 cup of oil so i threw in a couple of tbs. of sour cream. next, no cloves so i added extra cinnamon.i put in in my bundt pan in the oven and 5 mins later realized i didn't add the baking soda! so i dumped it back out in a bowl, stirred in the baking soda and returned it to the oven. i just knew i had ruined it but no! it was great and it stayed moist for several days.this was a big hit at my house. i will make it right the next time and i am sure we will like it even more! thanks for a great and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by true

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
Came out really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cgrims

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Most Delicious cake I have ever had i made it for my zombie party!!! It was sooo moist!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Way too much oil for this recipe. I would use only half the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Very yummy! I don't bake much, but this came out really well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chantilly, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
delicious, moist, everyone loved it! I tend to add more nuts than called for, but that's my family's preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I made as directed the first time and decided I wanted less oil, although it was wonderful as written. Second time, made it with 1/2 applesauce to replace some oil, and reduced sugar to one and 1/2 cups instead of 2 1/2. Used part brown sugar instead of all white. For 3/4 cup of the all purpose flour, I subbed some rolled oats and white whole wheat flour. Increased spices a bit and added chopped dark chocolate. Excellent! Thanks for a great base recipe that is very flexible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I LOVE this recipe! It is the perfect balance of sweet/spicy and makes a great background for whatever you want to pair it with. I also used applesauce, but used Splenda, rather than brown sugar. The one addition I made was 1/4 tsp of cayenne. It was not hot, but just warmed it up a little. I baked this in a jelly roll pan and made a torte of it, using a sweetened cream cheese between the layers, alternating orange zest and chopped dried cranberries. It is AMAZING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUVAPEI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Dorado, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Amazing, and I followed the 1/2 cup oil, 1/2 cup applesauce. The cake was so full of flavor and moist. The *First cake I made didn't rise and I noticed this about halfway through the baking - it was then that I realized I never added the baking soda! I let it finish cooking and although it came out half the size, the flavor was fabulous. I'm going to use it in my 'pumpkin muffin stuffin'. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States