Pumpkin Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2004
Yummy, very delicious! I didn't have a bundt pan so I used 2-9" round cake pans, and it turned out fine. I ate it without any frosting and it was still yummy! The longer you let it sit, the better it gets! So don't eat it right when you take it out of the oven! And I used pumpkin pie filling spice, and that worked out fine, and I didn't add the last 1/2 c. of sugar, which was good. Well, enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CINNABUNNY09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
Very good!!!! I couldn't find ground clove so I used 4 teaspoons of pumpkin pie spice instead. Next time i'll cut back a little on the sugar and use a little less oil.. cake was a little too sweet. and a little to moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2004
Everyone loved this--even those who are not fans of pumpkin pie. I baked it in a tube instead of bundt pan so that I could frost the top with a thick layer of cream cheese frosting. It was to die for! It took almost an extra 10 min baking than the recipe time, fyi. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2004
This cake was great, but absolutely extraordinary after it sat in the refrigerator overnight. I served it with a cream cheese allspice frosting. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2004
This was great. Very moist, very dense. Even my mom liked it, and she hates pumpkin and walnuts. It was not nearly as sweet as I thought it would be, considering the amount of sugar. I added the vanilla frosting glaze variation from the "Pumpkin Cake with Orange Glaze" recipe, and it relly went well with the cake. The only modifications I made were: used 1/2 cup applesauce in place of half the oil, used 4 tsp. pumpkin pie spice in place of the spices, and added 1/2 cup raisins. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BLMNY
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
A fun, festive treat for Halloween. Excellent recipe - perfect anytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
One of my favorite cakes.. instead of making in a bundt pan I used 2 (9 in) round pans, omitted the walnuts in the batter and instead spread a walnut filling between the two layers then finished off with a cream cheese icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2004
I have made this cake dozens of times, just as the recipe is written, and with or without chopped nuts. It's a favorite and I'm asked to make it ALL the TIME! I usually make a not too sweet cream cheese frosting with it, and it's fab!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2004
This cake bakes beautifully! I's moist with good festive flavour, too. It's a nice size and slices and presents perfectly. A good cake for guests or family, it's superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
WOW!!!! I don't care for pumpkin at all but this cake is scruptious!!! I am making it for a combination Thanksgiving and birthday for my father (who loves pumpkin pie). I am making a large loaf (16 by 4) and needed to double the recipe. It took nearly two hours to bake FYI should anyone want to do the same. I will use cream cheese icing to decorate with. I can't wait to present this one!!! Thank you for the recipe!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States