Pumpkin Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
WOW! I just whipped this cake up in the midst of making dinner & lunches, supervising homework, doing laundry, and it couldn't have been easier! I just dumped everything into a bowl at once and mixed it up (I did make two changes - I decreased the sugar to 1.5 cups and replaced half the oil with applesauce.) IT'S SO GOOD!! I did not use nuts, as I knew my kids wouldn't like them, but I can tell nuts would have made it even better! I've gotta go have another piece!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
It was just a little too moist. Make sure to cook it for a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
Fabulous. Got so so many compliments. Definitely a keeper. So moist. Just pefect. Left the recipe just as it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
I made this following a few suggestions from other reviews: 1/2 c. oil & 1/2 c. applesauce; split the sugar to 1/2 brown and 1/2 white, and added 1 tsp. baking powder. It's very good and moist, better the next day than fresh out of the oven. First time I made it was with orange cream cheese frosting and the second time just a powdered sugar glaze. It's a matter of preference if you like the orange flavor. I think I will cut back slightly on the cloves; I think they overpower the pumpkin flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
I've made this twice and everyone loved it both times. I used half the oil, as someone else recommended, and it was still plenty moist. The other change I made was, I used 4 teaspoons of pumpkin pie spice instead of the four separate spices. I frosted it (with cream cheese frosting the first time) and the second time I added about a cup of mini chocolate chips and just dusted it with confectioner's sugar. The cake is so yummy, it doesn't need frosting. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
This cake was very moist and tasty! My husband loved it, and he's not very big on pumpkin. I didn't have applesauce to use instead of the oil, but I will try that suggestion next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
This recipe is so excellent,I made this cake a few times already and even one for a good friend and she loved it, its so moist! With her cake i didn't add the nuts as she doesn't likethem and she still raved about it,I add the nuts to mine and sometimes I just dust the cake with powdered sugar. My sons also love it when I add mini chocolate chips to it too,no matter what this is just super excellent and I will be making it many times over!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coolidge, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
Yummy, made it last night, brought it into work today. All my co-workers loved it. I followed recipes to the tee, w/ the exception of I left out the cloves. (which I didn't have on hand) I don't think it made any difference. Very moist and festive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
I just made this beauty yesterday and it's delicious! Very easy to make and extremely moist finish. I was concerned the cloves would be too much, but it's not overly spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flemington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
I made this cake in 25 muffins and they were de-vine. They were perfect after 20 minutes and got a nice chewy crust on top. The inside is moist and had a great texture and crumb. These are so flavorful they really don't even need frosting, but I put some cream cheese frosting on them anyways and they were awesome. I will use this reicpe a lot this fall for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States