Pumpkin Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I made a double batch and substituted Splenda for the sugar... it was too sweet, but yummy! Next time I would cut back on the amount of Splenda, as I find it sweetens more than sugar. Otherwise it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Yum! This is fantastic. However, I only added a third of the amount of sugar. I love sweet, but I think all the sugar, plus the apple juice, would be cloying. I added sugar slowly until it was sweet enough, and it ended up being about 1/3 of the suggested amount. The cloves were a little overpowering. Maybe I threw it off balance because I added a little less cinnamon and a little more nutmeg? Anyway, less cloves next time. So not perfect, but very very very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
very good, creamy. I processed it for 15 minutes in a hot water bath so I could keep it longer and give it as gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I fallowed the recipe to the T and loved it. I made a double batch and canned it for guest favors for a fall baby shower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
we love this recipe it is so yummy and so easy thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I made applesauce this morning and decided since the canning supplies were out to make pumpkin butter. This is my first time making it. I used this recipe and used pumpkin pie spice instead of the other individual ones, and I only had apple cider, so used that instead of juice. I, instead of sugar used Agave nector and a little splenda brown sugar to save those precious carbs. It's fantastic! Just delicious. I'll make this again and again. Making some more next week for christmas baskets. Thanks so much. sue
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Weiker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Very easy and very addictve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
I had never tried pumpkin butter before. It will definitely be in stock during the fall and holiday season. Might consider giving it for gifts, too. Didn't change any of the ingredients. Just let it cook in the slow cooker and make my house smell amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I should have read the reviews first. I used the servings adjustments tool to scale it down to the amount of pumpkin I had (to 10 servings). It was leftover from making pumpkin bread, and I didn't want to waste it. I tasted the pumpkin butter while I was cooking, and I am SO glad I did. It was disgustingly sweet and had a strong undercurrent of pumpkin - not in the good pumpkin pie way, in the squash sort of way. So I added more apple juice, cinnamon, and ginger. That made it much better, but still too sweet. My husband likes it, so I'll let him eat it. I'm glad I only had about a cup of pumpkin available. Hopefully when it's cold the sweetness won't seem to strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Lebanon, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
I have been making this for a long time. I have found that fresh pie pumpkin cut in half and roasted in the oven till tender gives the best flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nederland, Texas, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States