Pumpkin Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I didn't have apple juice so I substituted a can of ginger ale. Excellent recipe. Thanks for the warning about bubbling and using a whisk to stir!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Love this Pumpkin Butter & grew up making it from fresh pumpkin. My mother didn't believe in using tinned pumpkin as fresh is better. If you cook your pumpkin flesh first, please don't boil it as you really do lose a lot of flavour! Instead, roast the pumpkin pieces to concentrate the flavour. Simply cut your pumpkin into large hand size pieces, scrape away seeds but leave the skin on. Place pumpkin pieces, skin side down) into an oven dish, prick flesh with a fork (not sure why but Mom always did it so I do it, too) & roast/bake in moderately hot oven until flesh is tender. Leave pieces to cool & then scrape the flesh from the skin to purée down. Personally, I put the liquid that results from the baking into a bowl, then push the scraped flesh into a sieve to ensure a very silky purée, rather than using a food processor to purée it. Mix the sieved flesh with the liquid and then your ready to add your sugar & spices to cook down. For something a little different, add a wee tablespoon of whiskey to the pumpkin butter for an extra kick - it's hubby's favourite to start Christmas morning. My British neighbours LOVE my Pumpkin Butter, Rum Balls and Green Mountain Chutney that I make and give out at Christmas =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Proctorsville, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
A little sweet for my taste but really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JKigloo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Great recipe, very easy. For a delicious appetizer, put brie cheese in a buttered oven proof dish, (remove top skin), coat top with about 1/4 inch pumpkin butter, and bake at 325 for 20 min. or until bubbly. Serve with apple slices & crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Very tasty, and super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by youngwoman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
A little heavy on the spices, not a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marieclaire0924

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I made this to put in the Pumpkin Pecan Cheesecake. Hope its good in there because its way too strong to eat by itself. Too many cloves! Update 9/29/11-This recipe is awesome in the Pumpkin Pecan Cheesecake!! That is one of the best desserts I've ever made. I froze the previous batch that I made in small portions to thaw and use for cheesecakes throughout the holiday season and I'm about to make a batch to freeze for this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookneal, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
WoWzA!!! I used double the spices and used apple cider as the apple juice. SO YUMMY!!! I also used fresh pumpkin as well. DELISH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Deridder, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I used leftover fresh pumpkin I had on hand and it turned out terrific. Try stirring 2 tsp of the butter into a bowl of oatmeal -- delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BYL70

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This is good, but has too many cloves. I would make it again, but cut the cloves in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States