Pumpkin Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Scaled by half but reduced sugar to 1/2 cup, just right. Will be adding this to steel cut oats for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
This recipe scaled nicely to use up the remaining 4oz of canned pumpkin i had after baking pumpkin bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingMama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This is excellent! We grow and can most of what we eat so I'm always looking for ways to use our produce. This pumpkin butter is excellent 'canned' for gifts as well as future use. This past Thanksgiving & Christmas we gave quite a few as gifts and everyone loved the flavor. Additionally, I loved the ease in cooking and 'putting up.'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Great stuff, with a flexible recipe! I made a few modifications, starting with cooked pumpkin instead of canned. I didn't feel like buying apple juice, so I used the juice from a can of pineapple rings in 100% juice. I used 1 cup of brown sugar and accidentally added 1 tsp of cloves instead of 1\2--I don't recommend following my example there--and both flavors turned or pretty strong, so I added the rest of the cooked pumpkin I had on hand. I'm looking forward to enjoying this on toast, crepes, mixing with yogurt, and maybe even as a muffin filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This is a really good recipe, the only change I made was using splenda backing mix instead of sugar to cut down on the calories. It turned out very nice. Great on toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This recipe turned out great! It was very easy and cheap and made excellent gifts after I canned it in jars and added a pretty ribbon around it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
this was the most incredible holiday yummy for our family and friends! It even won third in a family pumking cookoff. My 9 year old daughter made this with no help it was that simple...and then i jumped in to can it. We can't keep enough of this around...we'll make this all year long :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Splendora, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Tasty and perfectly spiced! I no longer have to buy expensive pre-made pumpkin butter. I like to put a dollop of pumpkin butter in plain yogurt for a tasty treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I made a small batch to keep in the fridge and use w/i a week, so I didn't need to concern myself w/ making it safe for canning. For this purpose I found COOKING IT IN A DOUBLE BOILER reduced the stirring needed and the spluttering. I prefer it much less sweet so I used a little less than half the sugar. I also adjusted the spices to my taste: ground coriander seed instead of nutmeg (very similar taste w/o nutmeg's bitterness), subbed allspice for the major portion of the cloves but did use ~ a quarter of the cloves called for (in my batch that was just a pinch). Personally I like ginger better than cinnamon, so the proportions of those spices suited me just fine. The result is a delicious sub for good jam which is so hard to find these days for a reasonable price. I'm sure fresh baked pumpkin would make it taste better, but that would be impractical for my little household. I'm thinking of making a batch of butternut squash butter in the future by microwaving the squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I didn't have apple juice so I substituted a can of ginger ale. Excellent recipe. Thanks for the warning about bubbling and using a whisk to stir!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States