Pumpkin Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This is a really good recipe, the only change I made was using splenda backing mix instead of sugar to cut down on the calories. It turned out very nice. Great on toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This recipe turned out great! It was very easy and cheap and made excellent gifts after I canned it in jars and added a pretty ribbon around it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
this was the most incredible holiday yummy for our family and friends! It even won third in a family pumking cookoff. My 9 year old daughter made this with no help it was that simple...and then i jumped in to can it. We can't keep enough of this around...we'll make this all year long :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Splendora, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Tasty and perfectly spiced! I no longer have to buy expensive pre-made pumpkin butter. I like to put a dollop of pumpkin butter in plain yogurt for a tasty treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I made a small batch to keep in the fridge and use w/i a week, so I didn't need to concern myself w/ making it safe for canning. For this purpose I found COOKING IT IN A DOUBLE BOILER reduced the stirring needed and the spluttering. I prefer it much less sweet so I used a little less than half the sugar. I also adjusted the spices to my taste: ground coriander seed instead of nutmeg (very similar taste w/o nutmeg's bitterness), subbed allspice for the major portion of the cloves but did use ~ a quarter of the cloves called for (in my batch that was just a pinch). Personally I like ginger better than cinnamon, so the proportions of those spices suited me just fine. The result is a delicious sub for good jam which is so hard to find these days for a reasonable price. I'm sure fresh baked pumpkin would make it taste better, but that would be impractical for my little household. I'm thinking of making a batch of butternut squash butter in the future by microwaving the squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I didn't have apple juice so I substituted a can of ginger ale. Excellent recipe. Thanks for the warning about bubbling and using a whisk to stir!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Love this Pumpkin Butter & grew up making it from fresh pumpkin. My mother didn't believe in using tinned pumpkin as fresh is better. If you cook your pumpkin flesh first, please don't boil it as you really do lose a lot of flavour! Instead, roast the pumpkin pieces to concentrate the flavour. Simply cut your pumpkin into large hand size pieces, scrape away seeds but leave the skin on. Place pumpkin pieces, skin side down) into an oven dish, prick flesh with a fork (not sure why but Mom always did it so I do it, too) & roast/bake in moderately hot oven until flesh is tender. Leave pieces to cool & then scrape the flesh from the skin to purée down. Personally, I put the liquid that results from the baking into a bowl, then push the scraped flesh into a sieve to ensure a very silky purée, rather than using a food processor to purée it. Mix the sieved flesh with the liquid and then your ready to add your sugar & spices to cook down. For something a little different, add a wee tablespoon of whiskey to the pumpkin butter for an extra kick - it's hubby's favourite to start Christmas morning. My British neighbours LOVE my Pumpkin Butter, Rum Balls and Green Mountain Chutney that I make and give out at Christmas =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Proctorsville, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
A little sweet for my taste but really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JKigloo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Great recipe, very easy. For a delicious appetizer, put brie cheese in a buttered oven proof dish, (remove top skin), coat top with about 1/4 inch pumpkin butter, and bake at 325 for 20 min. or until bubbly. Serve with apple slices & crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Very tasty, and super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by youngwoman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States