Pumpkin Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
Ok, first off, I experimented with a few things and the results were good lessons learned. I used 1 cup of light brown sugar instead, I like it better and it suited my taste. If you take the innards of the pumpkin and puree it in a blender, the recipe is great the way it is since the pumpkin balances out the ginger. For my next batch; however, I boiled the pumpkin meat and then pureed it, thus taking some of the taste away, and with this I found that the amount of ginger was too much. The taste was a little over powering. To resolve this, I just halved the ginger, but then again I spice to taste so there is a little more of the other spices in there too. All in all, I am very pleased with this recipe and intend on using it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
This pumpkin butter is easy, yummy and verstile!Use it to make Pumpkin Pecan Ice cream! Just mix it in to butter pecan ice cream and you won't be able to put down the carton! Or warm up and pour over some vanilla for a pumpkin pie ala mode! Lastly, create a panini with cream cheese or any mild cheese, apples slices, turkey and pumpkin butter! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
The consistency was great, I did use fresh pumpkin puree, not canned. However I think there is way too much ginger in this. I am not fond of ginger, and it was all I could taste. Next time, I'll decrease the ginger, and increase the other spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
This recipe is excellant! I made a double batch and had enough for 13 1/2 jars. LIke other reviewers, I added more apple juice because it already looked so thick. The pumpkin splatters as it boils so wear an apron or old clothes. I'm not a big ginger fan so only used 1/2 tsp. of it and added a 1/2 tsp. of all spice--- still a little to gingery for my taste, I will use 3/4 all spice next time. Also-- I usually complete my canning at the end of August, but had to try this recipe when I found it. I had a hard time finding jars in October. My advice for next year: STOCK UP! I bought the last 4 packs that Wal-mart had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
Absolutly wonderful! I used canned organic pumpkin, pumpkin pie spice and *no* added sugar except for a drizzle (about 1tablespoon) of real maple syrup and a few shakes of stevia powder (a natural safe sweetner); it came out sweet enough...I can't imagine adding the 1.5 cups of sugar the recipe calls for, totally un-needed. I did use about 1 cup of apple juice rather than the 3/4 C recommended as I like it a bit less thick. Put it in my crockpot and then canned after hot water bath. Would totally recommend to anyone, completely yummy and super easy to make. We love it on toast and on whole wheat buttermilk pancakes instead of maple syrup for a nice change and less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
278 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
Very good and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2004
This recipe was not only easy, it tasted great! I didn't have any ground cloves, so I used the same amount of ground allspice and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
Exactly what I was looking for--pumpkin pie taste on my toast every morning---I'm in heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2004
I loved this recipe! I thought the spices were perfect. I ending up using a total of 2 cups Apple Juice as the mixture seemed so thick to begin with. I will definitely be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2004
pretty good this tastes just like pumpkin pie on bread. It was a bit heavy on the spices tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States