Pumpkin Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
This was quick and easy. I liked it because it was not to sweet. But I do think I prefer the taste of brown sugar over white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
I like this pumpkin butter, but I think it has too much ginger in it. I wonder what it would taste like if you used brown sugar instead of white. Like other viewers, I used a little over 1 cup of apple juice. Good recipe overall. Will try again and tweak the spices. Thanks for the yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kirkwood, Missouri, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
I've been making this as part of my Christmas gift packages for a few years now. This is one recipe that everyone asks me to repeat. For the effort, the reward is fantastic. I make over 100 jars per year. As a side note, since FDA does not recommend canning squash, I do mark every jar as "Keep Refrigerated". Thanks so much, Eleanor, for posting this fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akdebs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Auke Bay, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
So easy and so yummy. I made it just as the directions said and everyone at my daughter's school function loved it! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
Sooo sooo good. All the other comments were very helpful. There's obviously lots of ways to use the recipe and it'll still be good. Just a note: I did not find it too thick. With the idea of it being "butter" in my head I think it should be at least as thick as it comes out to be. It spreads wonderfully. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
I made this recipe with my daughter's preschool class. I modified the recipe a little. We used fresh pumpkin and 1 1/4 cup of dark honey instead of sugar. The kids loved it and shared it with their families.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
Made this last night and I agree with the popping and needing to stir constantly that would be the only drawback. Will make in a crockpot next time to see how that works. I doubled the batch since Im planning on using these to 'spread' holiday cheer, double batch yielded 9 jelly jar size. I did use 2/3 white sugar the rest brown sugar. I tend to think the original recipe is definitely not too sweet and I could see how some would want it even sweeter. The ginger gives it a nice snap of flavor. This recipe is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
This recipe was great and SO easy! I have made apple butter before, but never thought of pumpkin butter. It was awesome on top of toasted cinnamon-cranberry swirl bread. Next time I make it, I will use my crockpot like I do for apple butter. Then I can smell it all day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlebury, Indiana, USA
Living In: Atmore, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
This is an awesome recipe! I messed it up so bad the first time I made it, and it was still good (I didn't have any applejuice and used pear? anyway) I made it since then with apple juice and both were absolutely awesome. I have made some for our bake sale and everyone cannot wait to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
I can't personally comment on taste as I made this for a get-together and I don't like pumpkin, so I haven't tried it. But it smells exactly like a pumpkin pie and I'd make it again and again just for the way it has made my house smell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States