Pumpkin Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
This recipe was great and SO easy! I have made apple butter before, but never thought of pumpkin butter. It was awesome on top of toasted cinnamon-cranberry swirl bread. Next time I make it, I will use my crockpot like I do for apple butter. Then I can smell it all day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlebury, Indiana, USA
Living In: Atmore, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
This is an awesome recipe! I messed it up so bad the first time I made it, and it was still good (I didn't have any applejuice and used pear? anyway) I made it since then with apple juice and both were absolutely awesome. I have made some for our bake sale and everyone cannot wait to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
I can't personally comment on taste as I made this for a get-together and I don't like pumpkin, so I haven't tried it. But it smells exactly like a pumpkin pie and I'd make it again and again just for the way it has made my house smell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
Ok, first off, I experimented with a few things and the results were good lessons learned. I used 1 cup of light brown sugar instead, I like it better and it suited my taste. If you take the innards of the pumpkin and puree it in a blender, the recipe is great the way it is since the pumpkin balances out the ginger. For my next batch; however, I boiled the pumpkin meat and then pureed it, thus taking some of the taste away, and with this I found that the amount of ginger was too much. The taste was a little over powering. To resolve this, I just halved the ginger, but then again I spice to taste so there is a little more of the other spices in there too. All in all, I am very pleased with this recipe and intend on using it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
This pumpkin butter is easy, yummy and verstile!Use it to make Pumpkin Pecan Ice cream! Just mix it in to butter pecan ice cream and you won't be able to put down the carton! Or warm up and pour over some vanilla for a pumpkin pie ala mode! Lastly, create a panini with cream cheese or any mild cheese, apples slices, turkey and pumpkin butter! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
The consistency was great, I did use fresh pumpkin puree, not canned. However I think there is way too much ginger in this. I am not fond of ginger, and it was all I could taste. Next time, I'll decrease the ginger, and increase the other spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
This recipe is excellant! I made a double batch and had enough for 13 1/2 jars. LIke other reviewers, I added more apple juice because it already looked so thick. The pumpkin splatters as it boils so wear an apron or old clothes. I'm not a big ginger fan so only used 1/2 tsp. of it and added a 1/2 tsp. of all spice--- still a little to gingery for my taste, I will use 3/4 all spice next time. Also-- I usually complete my canning at the end of August, but had to try this recipe when I found it. I had a hard time finding jars in October. My advice for next year: STOCK UP! I bought the last 4 packs that Wal-mart had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
Absolutly wonderful! I used canned organic pumpkin, pumpkin pie spice and *no* added sugar except for a drizzle (about 1tablespoon) of real maple syrup and a few shakes of stevia powder (a natural safe sweetner); it came out sweet enough...I can't imagine adding the 1.5 cups of sugar the recipe calls for, totally un-needed. I did use about 1 cup of apple juice rather than the 3/4 C recommended as I like it a bit less thick. Put it in my crockpot and then canned after hot water bath. Would totally recommend to anyone, completely yummy and super easy to make. We love it on toast and on whole wheat buttermilk pancakes instead of maple syrup for a nice change and less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
270 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
Very good and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2004
This recipe was not only easy, it tasted great! I didn't have any ground cloves, so I used the same amount of ground allspice and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States