Pumpkin Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
Great recipe, but I think it has a little too much ginger in it. Next time I'll add less ginger and more cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
This is some deliscious stuff...and was fun to make on a cold rainy day.I did fallow the suggestion of 2 cups apple juice and light brown sugar.I,though,did not find it overly sweet at all.Now I have to go make some down east maine pumpkin bread,also on this site...I would recommend that as a "go with" its deliscious also and the smell while baking is heavenly.Great recipe thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Liverpool, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
I made a few batches of this last fall when I had an abundance of pumpkins from my garden, so I used fresh pumpkin puree. Wonderful! Other than that I didn't change a thing. My 5 year old won't eat a peanut butter sandwich without pumpkin butter on it now! We are on the last jar so he is anxiously awaiting the next batch of pumpkin butter this fall! Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VTmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
This was quick and easy. I liked it because it was not to sweet. But I do think I prefer the taste of brown sugar over white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
I like this pumpkin butter, but I think it has too much ginger in it. I wonder what it would taste like if you used brown sugar instead of white. Like other viewers, I used a little over 1 cup of apple juice. Good recipe overall. Will try again and tweak the spices. Thanks for the yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kirkwood, Missouri, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
I've been making this as part of my Christmas gift packages for a few years now. This is one recipe that everyone asks me to repeat. For the effort, the reward is fantastic. I make over 100 jars per year. As a side note, since FDA does not recommend canning squash, I do mark every jar as "Keep Refrigerated". Thanks so much, Eleanor, for posting this fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akdebs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Auke Bay, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
So easy and so yummy. I made it just as the directions said and everyone at my daughter's school function loved it! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
Sooo sooo good. All the other comments were very helpful. There's obviously lots of ways to use the recipe and it'll still be good. Just a note: I did not find it too thick. With the idea of it being "butter" in my head I think it should be at least as thick as it comes out to be. It spreads wonderfully. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
I made this recipe with my daughter's preschool class. I modified the recipe a little. We used fresh pumpkin and 1 1/4 cup of dark honey instead of sugar. The kids loved it and shared it with their families.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
Made this last night and I agree with the popping and needing to stir constantly that would be the only drawback. Will make in a crockpot next time to see how that works. I doubled the batch since Im planning on using these to 'spread' holiday cheer, double batch yielded 9 jelly jar size. I did use 2/3 white sugar the rest brown sugar. I tend to think the original recipe is definitely not too sweet and I could see how some would want it even sweeter. The ginger gives it a nice snap of flavor. This recipe is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States