Pumpkin Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
I didn't have apple juice so I just peeled an apple and added 1/2 cup of water to the recipe and the apple. It was great! Thanks for the recipe. I was selling pumpkins and had a couple that the stems broke off of and I used them and the folks at the church bazaar really liked this. thanks again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
Terrific spread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZK65

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
Firstly, Yes CJ, you can freeze pumpkin butters. I haven't tried freezing THIS one but it ought to be fine. And JAIMENICOLEC is right. Several years ago the USDA deemed preparing pumpkin this way unsafe. I had been canning my own pumpkin butter in a boiling water bath since before then and I intend to continue doing so, but everyone MUST be aware that they do so at their OWN RISK. Again, pumpkin butters can be frozen safely for up to about a year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
I have a question/concern. I've tried store-bought pumpkin butters in the past and wanted to make my own, but the USDA recommendation is to NOT can pureed pumpkin b/c the density and pH varies too much- which can lead to botulism. The advice from other canners seems to be to ALWAYS freeze or refrigerate pumpkin butters. Has anyone tried this recipe and stored it in the freezer (& fridge after opening)? Any comments on the safety of this recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
I love pumpking butter on toasted nutty bread. 4-6 hours in a slow cooker makes it easy and no mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
Just made a batch of this...DELICIOUS! I plan to give it to all my "adult" trick or treaters this year! Thanks for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durant, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PINKPIGG33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
I tried to follow the recipe exactly (did not have apple juice so I had to use apple cider) and it turned out fantastic! A little on the 'spicy' side but my family all gave it a thumbs up and each took a jar home. Now we're all anxiously awaiting the day that I make the pumpkin pecan cheesecake. Thanks for the recipe, it'll be a keeper for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mclean, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
yummm.... goes great on French Toast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
We love this pumpkin butter, especially our six year old. Only change was no cloves as I didn't have any on hand. It was still the best! It made great Christmas presents, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States