Pumpkin Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
I tried this recipe the first time using pumpkin spice, 1 cup sugar, and regular apple juice. Although it tasted all right it was missing a "punch" and the tangy aftertaste from the AJ was too much. I tried it a second time and used separate spices, low-acid apple juice, and 1-1/4 sugar. This was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
I used apple cider instead of apple juice, used 1/2 white and 1/2 brown sugar, added 1 tsp. vanilla, about 10 caramels, and for the spices i used allspice, cinnamon and a little nutmeg but that was it. I've made pumpkin butter several times for people and i like it this way the best so far:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erinlea82
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Divine and something that will be made every autumn in my kitchen. I cut the ginger back a little but that was the only deviation from the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trinka G

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Petersburg, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spacecoaster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I made the pumpkin butter to put into the "Pumpkin pecan cheesecake" recipe that this author also listed. If you are making the pumpkin butter for the cheesecake recipe, it is great - don't change a thing!!! But I found that this pumpkin butter just by itself is WAY too strong - much too sweet, and the spices are overwhelming. My husband came home from work while I was making this and he said the spices were so strong it made his eyes water! Just a warning - add sugar and spices a little at a time until it suits your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
i made this for a pumpkin cheesecake and the butter by itself was absoultely fantastic! i was completey suprised by how good it was by itself. will definatly use this recipe again! I even used some leftovers in my french toast batter and it gave it a lovely taste. would recommand to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Yum! Just got done making this, and it tastes fabulous! 2 changes: dropped the sugar to just over 1 c. & added a splash more apple juice. Cook time was right on, be sure to stir every minute or so. I love the spicy taste of it, the ginger really came through and it smells like pie. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
I cooked this in a saucepan as I don't have a crockpot. Anyone thinking of doing the same had best be prepared for a great deal of splattering. Be careful not to scald yourself when little bits of the mixture fly out of the saucepan. When I taste tested the mixture hot out the pan when it was done I wondered what in the world had I made. It was extremely spicy almost to pungency, I thought the entire thing had gone to waste. However, after leaving in the refrigerator for a while it seemed to taste better and now that I've kept it for about a month or so (just myself to consume the whole thing) it really tastes very very good. The flavor just seems to keep getting better with age. The taste of the spices mellows down and the flavors seems to blend a lot better. I was quite put away by the amount of sugar needed to be used and cut it down to about half or less. The mixture seems to get naturally sweeter with time and now it tastes just about the right sweetness so I'll permanently reduce the sugar subsequent times I make this. Though I think this tastes very good as is now the ginger is a tad bit strong so I'll try cutting back a bit the next time and see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
This is delicious. It was perfect to put in jars and give away to people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elyse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This recipe is wonderful! I have had butters in the past that are so blah. This recipe has so much flavor! I added a 1/4 cup more of apple juice to thin it down a bit,and 2 tbsp of butter. I canned 6 (1/2 pint) bottles from 1 batch. I boiled my bottles and lids, put the hot butter in, sealed and inverted them on the counter for about 20 minutes and wahla! They all sealed perfectly. Thank you so much for a wonderful butter!I'm sending some back to Hawaii for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States