Pumpkin Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
I cooked this in a saucepan as I don't have a crockpot. Anyone thinking of doing the same had best be prepared for a great deal of splattering. Be careful not to scald yourself when little bits of the mixture fly out of the saucepan. When I taste tested the mixture hot out the pan when it was done I wondered what in the world had I made. It was extremely spicy almost to pungency, I thought the entire thing had gone to waste. However, after leaving in the refrigerator for a while it seemed to taste better and now that I've kept it for about a month or so (just myself to consume the whole thing) it really tastes very very good. The flavor just seems to keep getting better with age. The taste of the spices mellows down and the flavors seems to blend a lot better. I was quite put away by the amount of sugar needed to be used and cut it down to about half or less. The mixture seems to get naturally sweeter with time and now it tastes just about the right sweetness so I'll permanently reduce the sugar subsequent times I make this. Though I think this tastes very good as is now the ginger is a tad bit strong so I'll try cutting back a bit the next time and see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
This is delicious. It was perfect to put in jars and give away to people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elyse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This recipe is wonderful! I have had butters in the past that are so blah. This recipe has so much flavor! I added a 1/4 cup more of apple juice to thin it down a bit,and 2 tbsp of butter. I canned 6 (1/2 pint) bottles from 1 batch. I boiled my bottles and lids, put the hot butter in, sealed and inverted them on the counter for about 20 minutes and wahla! They all sealed perfectly. Thank you so much for a wonderful butter!I'm sending some back to Hawaii for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
YUM!!! I have never heard of pumpkin butter before but this is amazing stuff! I wasn't sure how long to thicken it or if it will thicken up more when its cooled down but either way, its so delicious! My daughter loved it! Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
This is great pumpkin butter! I used Splenda instead of sugar and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
So easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
Good stuff! I added carmalized sugar and toasted pecans before cooking for 30 minutes. Giving as gifts. Well, okay, maybe not all of them. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pdun776

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
I love spicy pumpkin butter, but I didn't like all the ginger in this one. Next time I think I would just use pumpkin pie spice in place of all the spices or cut the ginger in half. I made this is a slow cooker on high for a few hours until it reached a consistency I liked. Worked well, no splattering and no stirring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Circle Pines, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
Made this with a friend a few years ago for gifts. Had a TON of fun and it does taste good. Makes only a few, but that's okay, and my friend was reluctant to give up the jars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
This was very tasty and a unique treat for gift-giving. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States