Pumpkin Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
This was OK. It was eaten, but not overly enjoyed. I had to cook it much longer than I thought and had to add extra sugar to it, but that's part of 'seasoning to taste'. A good respectable recipe, but it didn't bowl anyone over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Made this today and it was easy and tasty. I'm not a big fan of cloves so will half it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dora, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Very nice! Many reviewers thought that the original recipe was too sweet, so I cut the sugar in half, and used brown sugar instead of white. I also cooked it in the slow cooker, which kept the splatter down quite a bit. However, I thought the spice level was perfect, contrary to some reviews. I would point out that using the freshest spices possible will bring out the best results. If possible, buy your spices from a local spice merchant in small amounts. Grocery store spices tend to have been on the shelves for a LONG time, which dulls the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle WizardNewfs Bingham

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Holly Springs, North Carolina, USA
Photo by Angelic1ang
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
I have made this for two years now. Last Fall, I made it with homemade puree from store bought pumpkins. I gave away freezer containers of it as gifts. Everyone loved it so much, we changed the name to Pumpkin Heaven. This Fall I made it with pumpkins from my own garden. You can make this in a crock pot on low and it takes 2-3 hours for it to get to a peanut butter like consistency. This is so much easier than stirring it in a pot for half an hour and being burnt as it splatters. The only suggestion other than making your own puree is to use less sugar. It doesn't need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelic1ang

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lapeer, Michigan, USA
Living In: Okemos, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
This makes a delicious and delightful quick gift for just about anything, especially a hostess gift! I poured into mason jars, added tulle fabric on the lid and tied with raffia. I did however, refine the recipe to less sugar and also substituted brown sugar on my second batch. I added a few dollops of local honey I received as a hostess gift providing a personalized gift in-kind with shared local natural sweetener!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snowborn
Home Town: Roseville, California, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Photo by wbruni
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
This recipe is wonderful as a guide for pumpkin butter. The spices are right on; however the sugar does need cut back a little. I cut it back by a half cup and it was plenty sweet. It is also great made with brown sugar instead of white and i followed what a previous post had mentioned and added a little bit more liquid as it was rather thick to begin with and i wanted it to reduce down to become thick. Overall an awesome base recipe for fall. Amazing flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Audrey
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I did a half recipe and switch the apple juice for 2 smalls grated apples. D-e-l-i-c-i-o-u-s! And the quantity fits perfectly in a empty Nutella bottle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Like others, I also made this in the slow cooker and used my own pumpkin spice recipe, which is very similar to this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
My daughter LOVED this! It was a nice change from our usual toast toppings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This is delicious and so easy. Did not make any modifications for high altitude cooking (Denver) and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madi Rawlins

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States