Pumpkin Butter IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Made this recipe and turned out really well. I made a second batch using other reviewers suggestions; I exchanged a cup of the white sugar with a cup of brown sugar, and added my own spice mixture blend. The second batch was even deeper in color and stronger in spices then the first batch. I will stick to the second method. Also, let this sit and cool overnight. Next moring put the glass pint jars in freezer. Be sure and leave 1/2'' headspace in jar for expansion, Or freeze in plastic containers. Family LOVED this! Thank you for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Janie Pendleton

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2002
Wonderful pumpkin-pie flavor, my family loved it. I didn't get 2 quarts, but I will make it again. Jennie H.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bea Gassman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glenwood, New York, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I subbed 1 cup of white sugar with brown sugar, as other reviewers suggested, and I further reduced the white sugar by a cup (so, 2 1/2 cups white, 1 cup brown). I probably used more pumpkin pie spice, using my own blend, so I'd guess I used an extra two teaspoonfuls. Came out really nice - maybe a bit looser than I was expecting, perhaps due to my reducing the sugar, but that's fine. That extra cup of sugar might have made this too sweet for me, so I'm thrilled with my results. Thanks, Bea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
This was my first taste of pumpkin butter. I made it for Pumpkin Apple Cobbler from this site. I used fresh pumpkin (roasted at 400 degrees for 35 min, then run through the food processor, then the blender, and strained through cheesecloth), because everyone seems to be out of canned pumpkin. Well worth the time it took, as well as the pumpkin-covered kitchen! Tastes AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teufel Frau

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Good base flavor, and great concept, but definately way too sweet for my taste. I have shared jars with other people, and they don't mind how sweet it is, so maybe it is just my taste, but I will make it again with a few changes :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
I halved the recipe and it came out waaay too sweet. I would suggest decreasing the sugar by 1/4 cup and replace another 1/4 cup with brown sugar for a deeper taste. I usually eat my pumpkin butter with either sunbutter or Tofutti vegan cream cheese on toast. This recipe definitely hit the spot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELANIESAYSHI

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
This is really good. I'll most certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Andrew's Mommy
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Love this! Can't wait to share it with others as gifts. Followed directions exactly, except as others did, swapped out one cup of the white sugar for one cup of br. sugar. It is sweet and full of pumpkin flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrew's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Telford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Made this for Thanksgiving gifts. It's WONDERFUL. I used 3 cups white sugar and 1 cup brown sugar and added about 1/4 cup Amaretto, which really set off the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Titusville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Very delicious and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv 2 Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Praline Pumpkin Mousse Cornucopias

Puff pastry makes a tasty "shell" to hold creamy pumpkin mousse. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States